With Mitchell Pearce suspended for the first eight weeks of the 2016 season, the Sydney Roosters season was always going to be a tough slog.

Not many expected them to finish in 15th place though and changes needed to be made for them to return to the Top 8 in 2017.

2016 Round 1 Team

  1. Blake Ferguson
  2. Joe Burgess
  3. Dale Copley
  4. Shaun Kenny-Dowall
  5. Latrell Mitchell
  6. Jayden Nikorima
  7. Jackson Hastings
  8. Kane Evans
  9. Jake Friend
  10. Dylan Napa
  11. Aidan Guerra
  12. Mitchell Aubusson
  13. Isaac Liu
  14. Sio Siua Taukeiaho
  15. Sam Moa
  16. Ian Henderson
  17. Vincent Leuluai

The most notable difference between the two Round 1 sides is in the halves. Mitchell Pearce will start the year alongside new recruit Luke Keary. This is a huge upgrade of Jayden Nikorima and Jackson Hastings.

The addition of Michael Gordon to play fullback (and kick goals) means that young gun Latrell Mitchell will most likely start the season in the centres alongside Blake Ferguson.

Overall, the 2017 Sydney Roosters look strong and experience across the park. With plenty of representative players amongst their forwards, halves and backline, expect them to start the season strongly.

2017 Possible Round 1 Team

  1. Michael Gordon
  2. Daniel Tupou
  3. Blake Ferguson
  4. Latrell Mitchell
  5. Shaun Kenny-Dowall
  6. Luke Keary
  7. Mitchell Pearce
  8. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves
  9. Jake Friend
  10. Dylan Napa
  11. Boyd Cordner
  12. Aidan Guerra
  13. Isaac Liu
  14. Mitchell Aubusson
  15. Kane Evans
  16. Connor Watson
  17. Paul Carter

PICK YOUR NRL TEAM: Not a fan of the above team? Then take over as the coach and pick your line-up!

Comments are closed.