MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JULY 30: Cameron Smith of the Storm warms up for the round 21 NRL match between the Melbourne Storm and the Manly Sea Eagles at AAMI Park on July 30, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

The Zero Tackle "Team of the Week" is based predominantly on a statistical performance. This understandably has pros and cons but allows us to remove any bias or preconceptions about a player or their opponents.

Players are compared to others in their starting position across a variety of stats, with a small bonus added if their team wins that round. The player with the highest "value" is then selected in each position. Players cannot be selected out of position.

As such, the interchange players are chosen from players who start the match from the bench and are there to give an indication of the players who performed best in that role.

Team of the Week: Round 21

  1. James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)
  2. Kirisome Auva'a (Eels)
  3. Jarrod Croker (Raiders)
  4. Esan Marsters (Wests Tigers)
  5. Josh Addo-Carr (Storm)
  6. Luke Keary (Roosters)
  7. Mitchell Moses (Eels)
  8. Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)
  9. Cameron Smith (Storm)
  10. Paul Vaughan (Dragons)
  11. Joseph Tapine (Raiders)
  12. Matt Gillett (Broncos)
  13. Nathan Brown (Eels)
  14. Sio Siua Taukeiaho (Roosters)
  15. Jacob Saifiti (Knights)
  16. Kenny Edwards (Eels)
  17. Alex Twal (Wests Tigers)

Honourable Mentions: Bevan French (Eels), Daniel Tupou (Roosters), Latrell Mitchell (Roosters), Jahrome Hughes (Storm), Luke Brooks (Wests Tigers), James Tamou (Panthers), Peter Wallace (Panthers), Chris Lawrence (Wests Tigers), Jack de Belin (Dragons)

Comments are closed.