CANBERRA, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 01: Jack Wighton of the Raiders poses during a Canberra Raiders Training Session & Media Opportunity at GIO Stadium on October 01, 2019 in Canberra, Australia. (Photo by Mark Evans/Getty Images)

Canberra Raiders five-eighth Jack Wighton has won the prestigious Dally M Medal in a close battle over Clinton Gutherson and Nathan Cleary.

Heading into the final round, Jack Wighton was one of a number of Raiders players that were rested ahead of the finals.

Gutherson (25 votes) and Cleary (24 votes) both had an opportunity to snatch the victory from WightonΒ (26 votes) but neither tallied any points.

Dally M Team of the Year

  1. Clint Gutherson – Parramatta Eels
  2. David Nofoaluma – Wests Tigers
  3. Stephen Crichton – Penrith Panthers
  4. Kotoni Staggs – Brisbane Broncos
  5. Josh Addo-Carr – Melbourne Storm
  6. Jack Wighton – Canberra Raiders
  7. Nathan Cleary – Penrith Panthers
  8. Josh Papalii – Canberra Raiders
  9. Cameron Smith – Melbourne Storm
  10. James Fisher-Harris – Penrith Panthers
  11. Viliame Kikau – Penrith Panthers
  12. Tohu Harris – Warriors
  13. Isaah Yeo – Penrith Panthers

Other Winners

Dally M Female Player of the Year – Ali Brigginshaw – Brisbane Broncos

Rookie of the Year – Harry Grant – Wests Tigers

Captain of the Year – Roger Tuivasa-Sheck – Warriors

Coach of the Year – Ivan Cleary – Penrith Panthers

Top Points Scorer – Adam Reynolds – South Sydney Rabbitohs

Top Try Scorer (Ken Irvine Medal) – Alex Johnston – South Sydney Rabbitohs

Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: Project Apollo

Provan-Summons – Warriors

Try of the Year – Kotoni Staggs (Brisbane Broncos)

Tackle of the Year – Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)

Telstra Moments of the Year – Josh Addo-Carr/Cody Ramsey

NRLW Rookie of the Year – Kennedy Cherrington (Sydney Roosters)

NRLW Try of the Year – Madison Bartlett (Warriors)

NRLW Tackle of the Year – Hannah Southwell (Sydney Roosters)


  1. What a crock.
    King Guth should have won it. He is way better than Wighton.
    The biggest joke was James Fisher Harris getting Prop of the year.
    Jr Paulo 1st, daylight 2nd, Papali 3rd, RCG 4th and JFH a very distant 5th.

  2. Nothing to do with being a sore loser.
    I think Jerome should have got 5/8 of the year over Wighton which kills me to say as I have a massive distaste for the Riff.
    RCG had to leave your lot to find his form and there isn’t a single player on the Riffs squad I would take over the king.
    Go Melbourne!

Comments are closed.