USA has named their squad for the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

The squad includes a handful of players from USA’s previous World Cup campaign that ‘Shocked the World’ when they advanced from their pool stage only to lose to Australia in the Quarter Finals.

Names include Bureta Faraimo, Eddy Pettybourne, Gabriel Farley, Daniel and Stephen Howard, Kristin Freed and Mark Offerdahl.

Another player joining the USA for his first World Cup is Junior Vaivai. Junior was MVP of the 2017 Colonial Cup and hails from the Illawarra competition in NSW and also has NRL playing experience.

World Cup Qualifiers Captain Mark Offerdahl spoke about this World Cup’s Squad.

"This World Cup once again puts the USA Rugby League on the global stage but this time to showcase up-and-coming USA talent. Whatever the results, I'm proud to wear the Red, White and Blue and will continue to help grow the game in the US anyway I can."

Coach Brian McDermott will finish his season with Leeds and take up his duties with the USA Hawks in Townsville on 21 October.

USA World Cup Squad

Jonathan Taylor Alley (Central Florida Warriors)
Ryan Burroughs (Toronto Wolfpack)
Charles ‘CJ' Cortalano (White Plains Wombats)
Joseph Eichner (Toronto Wolfpack)
Bureta Faraimo (New Zealand Warriors)
Gabriel Farley (Philadelphia Fight)
Kristian Freed (White Plains Wombats)
Daniel Howard (Wentworthville Magpies)
Stephen Howard (Mounties)
Martwain Johnston (Delaware Black Foxes)
Andrew Kneisly (Philadelphia Fight)
Corey Makelim (Mounties)
Fotukava ‘Hiko' Malu (Atlanta Rhinos)
David Marando (Belrose Eagles)
Nicholas Newlin (Atlanta Rhinos)
Mark Offerdahl (London Broncos)
Eddy Pettybourne (Tweed Heads Seagulls)
Joshua Rice (New York Knights)
Matthew Shipway (South Newcastle)
Samuel Tochtermann-Talbott (Tweed Heads Seagulls)
David Ulch (Tampa Mayhem)
Junior Vaivai (Illawarra Wests Devils)
Matthew Walsh (White Plains Wombats)

Coach: Brian McDermott