MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 19: The Papua New Guinea Kumuls stnad behing their line after England scored a try during the 2017 Rugby League World Cup Quarter Final match between England and Papua New Guinea Kumuls at AAMI Park on November 19, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

PNG Kumuls have today announced their squad which will take on the PM's XIII in Port Moresby on October 6th, with some big NRL names included.

St George Illawarra winger Nene MacDonald, Cronulla hooker James Segeyaro and Canterbury back-rower Rhyse Martin are amongst the big names which headline a strong PNG squad for the clash.

MacDonald, Segeyaro and Martin are amongst six players in the NRL to be named in the 18-man squad, with notable inclusions of English Super League stars.

Catalans fullback David Mead and Widnes Vikings prop Wellington Albert have also been included after good performances overseas.

Fellow NRL players including Melbourne's Justin Olam, Roosters Lachlan Lam and North Queensland's Kyle Laybutt have been given the nod.

The rest of the squad considers of players from Queensland's Intrust Super Cup teams the Easts Tigers, Souths Logan and eight players from the PNG Hunters.

Majority of the squad have featured in this years Pacific Test and the 2017 World Cup team, with the squad meeting in Port Moresby this week to begin preparations.

Olam and Lam will later join the team after fulfilling their commitments to the Storm and Roosters for Sundays NRL Grand Final.

The annual clash will this year take place in PNG after being moved there due to last year's debacle where PNG Hunters players could not partake due to the Intrust Super Cup Grand Final.

Below is the full PNG Kumuls squad:

Daniel Russell – South Logan Magpies (Intrust Super Cup)
David Mead – Catalans Dragons (Super League)
Edene Gabi – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)
Enock Maki – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)
James Segeyaro – Cronulla Sharks (NRL)
Justin Olam – Melbourne Storm (NRL)
Kyle Laybutt – North Queensland Cowboys (NRL)
Lachlan Lam – Sydney Roosters
Moses Meninga – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)
Nene MacDonald – St George Illawarra (NRL)
Nixon Putt – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)
Rhadley Brawa – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)
Rhyse Martin – Canterbury Bulldogs (NRL)
Stanton Albert – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)
Tom Butterfield – Easts Tigers (Intrust Super Cup)
Watson Boas – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)
Wellington Albert – Widnes Vikings (Super League
Willie Minoga – PNG Hunters (Intrust Super Cup)

Comments are closed.