SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 26: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck of the New Zealand Warriors poses on stage with the Dally M Award during the 2018 Dally M Awards at Overseas Passenger Terminal on September 26, 2018 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

New Zealand Warriors fullback Roger Tuivasa-Sheck has been named the 2018 Dally M Player of the Year after a strong finish to the season.

With one round to go, Tuivasa-Sheck sat one point behind Newcastle Knights fullback Kalyn Ponga and equal with Wests Tigers halfback Luke Brooks.

Tuivasa-Sheck was awarded three points for his Round 25 performance though which sent him to the top of the leaderboard and gifted him both the Fullback of the Year award and prestigious Dally M Medal.

2018 Dally M Award Winners

Dally M Player of the Year
Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (New Zealand Warriors)

Rookie of the Year
Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos)

Coach of the Year
Anthony Seibold (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Captain of the Year
Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Try of the Year
Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos)

Provan Summons People’s Choice Medal
Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Peter Frilingos Headline Moment
Inaugural women’s State of Origin match

Top Try Scorer
David Fusitu’a (New Zealand Warriors)

Female Player of the Year
Brittany Breayley

SEE ALSO:  FULL TIME: Knights vs Roosters - Round 11, 2019

Top Points Scorer
Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos)

Fullback of the Year
Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (New Zealand Warriors)

Winger of the Year
Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters)

Centre of the Year
Joseph Leilua (Canberra Raiders)

Five-eighth of the Year
Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)

Halfback of the Year
Luke Brooks (Wests Tigers)

Lock of the Year
Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)

Second-rower of the Year
Josh Jackson (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

Prop of the Year
Andrew Fifita (Cronulla Sharks)

Hooker of the Year
Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Interchange Player of the Year
Jazz Tevaga (New Zealand Warriors)



  1. Absolute joke… how can players who have underperformed, cost their teams a chance to play finals and not even be in consideration for any representative teams be the best in their positions!!! Poor form Toddy and NRL!!!!

    The Real Team of The Year
    Fullback: RTS
    Wing: Addo-Carr
    Centre: Mitchell
    Five-Eighth: Munster
    Halfback: Brooks
    Prop: Fifita
    Second-Row: Frizell
    Lock: Taumalolo
    Interchange: Murray

  2. Wow wasn’t thinking Jackson or Joey would be there. On a positive note good on RTS, seems pretty humble and wow how proud did his dad amd team mates look.

  3. Wow…I’m a Raiders tragic and even I was thrown to hear Leilua’s name get read out. Yeah, Joey came alive in like the last 5 rounds when we were already dead and buried, he pretty much carried us…But!!! The first half of the year he was terrible…I thought that award belonged to Mitchell. Mitchell was way more consistent throughout the year and was one of NSW best players. I think Mitchell is hard done by there, Sorry Joey but you don’t deserve it, not from what I saw week in week out.

  4. Highlight was the Haka – good on Isaac Luke for taking the initiative. Lowlight for me a couple of those selections – Brookes and Leilula the strange ones. I just can’t understand how the NRL can continue to bumble along and have no accountability, common sense or respect.

  5. So from the looks of things they have given the award to the top vote getter in each position? Most years they get criticised for not doing it this way, and this year they cop it for doing it this way. Joey got 11 votes and Mitchell had less than 6 according to the link below as he isn’t even mentioned. We might not agree with all of the choices, but it seems to be the fairest way to do it. The only concern would be that Mitchell had a lot more competition for points in the Roosters team than Joey did at Canberra, but there is no perfect way I guess.

    • Living up to your, well deserved, “wise man” title, I see. Speaking of which, where’s Billy of late?

      Anyway I agree it’s not perfect, as it can potentially favour a good player in an average team over a very good player in a very good team (Joey over Latrell), but on the other hand, how much did the overall team contribute to the players performance?

      • Definitely not perfect, but the old 3-2-1 system has been used for a very long time in many sports, and it is probably the fairest system. It is easy to say that it might hurt the chances of a great player in a great team as they have to share votes, but look at the list of Dally M winners, last year it was Cameron Smith in the premiership winning team with Munster, Cronk etc, 2016 Cronk (Runner Up, Smith, Slater, Munster) and JT13 (Prelim final, Thurston, Morgan). You are also right about the team contributing. If Joey and Latrell swapped teams would Joey all of a sudden be widely regarded as the best centre in the comp and would Latrell just be another good player?

        Not sure where billy is, has been missing for a bit hasn’t he?

  6. Yeah the way Dally M points are awarded is problematic, instead of awarding points per match it should be done per round IMO. Harder to do but the way it is now obviously favours teams without much going on like the Bulldogs and Raiders

  7. How could Munster get 5/8 of the year when Maloney out polled him for points 22-18 on the final leader board?. Hope TuivasA- $hreck is pleased with his individual award, top player who had he stayed at the Roosters would be lining up for a grand final, I doubt if we will ever see this champion play a grand final in the future if he stays put in NZ💰💰💰💰💰💰💰💰💰💰💰💰💰💰💰💰💰🤑🤑🤑🤑💲💲💲💲💲💲💲💲💲💲

Comments are closed.