GOLD COAST, AUSTRALIA - MAY 20: Karl Lawton of the Titans gets a pass away during the round 11 NRL match between the Gold Coast Titans and the Manly Sea Eagles at Cbus Super Stadium on May 20, 2017 in Gold Coast, Australia. (Photo by Jason O'Brien/Getty Images)

The Gold Coast Titans have announced the re-signing of Karl Lawton for a further three years, keeping him at the club until the end of 2020.

The 21-year-old made his first appearance at NRL level in Round 17 of season 2016, having now played 11 games.

The Burleigh Bears junior has struggled with injury over the past 18 months and never really looked to depart the Gold Coast at any stage.

“It’s great to have my future secured,” Lawton said. “This is where I grew up and I love living here.

“This is where I want to be and with a good bunch of young guys coming through, I see a bright future.

“I’m looking forward to getting back out on the field. It’s been a rough period with injuries but I’m excited for what the future holds.”

Lawton has played a number of positions in his career to date but he does see himself in that utility or hooker role.

“I probably see myself as more of a hooker but I’m happy in that utility role and I just want to get back to playing footy again and being in that 17 somewhere.”

Coach Neil Henry is happy to have Lawton remain at the club.

“It’s great to be able to re-sign a local product who loves it here on the Gold Coast,” Henry said. “He has proved himself to be a good utility, playing a number of positions since debuting.

“He has put in a lot of hard work and has been part of the system here at the Titans for a long time. He has had a tough run with injury but we’re glad that he has committed to the club for the next three years.”

Titans 2021 Player Movements

2021 Gains
Tino Fa'asuamaleaui (Melbourne Storm, 2023)
2021 Losses
Jai Arrow (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Kallum Watkins (released)
AJ Brimson (2022), Phillip Sami (2022)
Off Contract 2020
Juwan Compain, Dale Copley, Anthony Don, Keegan Hipgrave, Ryan James, Jaimin Jolliffe, Sam Lisone, Nathan Peats, Kevin Proctor, Tyrone Roberts, Ioane Seiuli, Sam Stone