The 2022 Rugby League World Cup, to be held in England, will get underway on October 15.

As the tournament approaches, nations are beginning to name squads, or drop major hints over who will be travelling to the United Kingdom for the tournament, which was originally supposed to be held in 2021 before being postponed thanks to the impacts of the coronavirus on both the NRL season, and global travel.

Teams are required to name a squad of 24 players for the tournament, where all 16 nations will play three group games, before a knockout stage features up to three more games per team, with quarter-finals, semi-finals and a final.

Players who are eligible for two nations must decide who they will play for three weeks before the tournament starts under International Rugby League rules.

You can use the drop down menu below to navigate between nations to find out the status of their squad, as well as key information ahead of the tournament.


Cook Islands

Group: D
Coach: Tony Iro
Captain: Esan Marsters
Number of World Cups: 2
Best World Cup performance: Group stages (2000, 2013)

Thursday, October 20, 5:30am: vs Wales
Wednesday, October 26, 5:30am: vs Papua New Guinea
Monday, October 31, 1:30am: vs Tonga

All times AEDT.

The Cook Islands have added Dylan Napa to their squad, having last played for the Island nation in 2013.

The now Catalan Dragons prop will join a host of other NRL players for the Cook Islands at the tournament.

Cook Islands final squad

Tevin Arona (Auckland)

Tinirau Arona (Wakefield)
Geoffrey Daniela (St Marys Saints)
Johnathon Ford (Featherstone)
Anthony Gelling (Auckland)
Kayal Iro (Cronulla Sharks)
Makahesi Makatoa (Parramatta Eels)
Steven Marsters (Thhirroul Butchers)
Esan Marsters (Gold Coast Titans)
Davvy Moale (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Tepai Moeroa (Melbourne Storm)
Dylan Napa (Catalans Dragons)
Ruatapu Ngatikaura (Wests Tigers)
Moses Noovao-McGreal (Norths Devils)
Pride Pettersen-Robati (New Zealand Warriors)
Dom Peyroux (Toulouse)
Brendan Piakura (Brisbane Broncos)
Reuben Poter (Tweed Heads Seagulls)
Vincent Rennie (Newtown Jets)
Reubenn Rennie (Newtown Jets)
Brad Takairangi (Hull KR)
Aaron Teroi (Central Queensland Capras)
Zane Tetevano (Leeds Rhinos)
Paul Ulberg (London Broncos)

Standby players
Adam Tangata (Halifax)
Malachi Morgan (Southport Tigers)