England have named its 16-man squad for the World Cup Nines featuring six NRL players.

St George Illawarra's James Graham will captain the team and will be joined by teammate Gareth Widdop, Raiders duo Elliott Whitehead and Ryan Sutton, South Sydney's Tom Burgess and Sydney's Ryan Hall.

Canberra bound-George Williams has also been named.

Graham, Widdop, Whitehead, Burgess, Hall and Williams have also been selected to play in November's Great Britain Lions four-match tour of New Zealand and Papua New Guinea.

Canberra forwards John Bateman and Josh Hodgson are also expected to be in the 24-man Lions squad.

The World Cup Nines will be held at Bankwest Stadium on October 18 and 19.

England World Cup Nines squad

  • James Graham (St George Illawarra) (captain)
  • Tom Burgess (South Sydney)
  • Daryl Clark (Warrington)
  • Jake Connor (Hull FC)
  • Ryan Hall (Sydney Roosters)
  • Ash Handley (Leeds)
  • Jack Hughes (Warrington)
  • Reece Lyne (Wakefield)
  • Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield)
  • Ryan Sutton (Canberra)
  • Sam Tomkins (Catalans)
  • Jake Trueman (Castleford)
  • Liam Watts (Castleford)
  • Elliott Whitehead (Canberra)
  • Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra)
  • George Williams (Wigan).