NEWCASTLE, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 28: Cory Denniss of the Knights in action during the round 25 NRL match between the Newcastle Knights and the South Sydney Rabbitohs at Hunter Stadium on August 28, 2016 in Newcastle, Australia. (Photo by Ashley Feder/Getty Images)

The Newcastle Knights have announced that local junior Cory Denniss has re-signed with the club until the end of the 2018 season.

Still only 19-years-old, Denniss made his NRL debut in Round 3 of the 2016 season and went on to score three tries in seven appearances.

Able to play on the wing or in the centres, Denniss also made 11 appearances for the NYC Knights in 2016, scoring two tries and making seven try-assists.

“He’s another player that we are very pleased to have re-signed,” coach Nathan Brown said of Denniss.

“Cory is still very young, but he showed in his NRL appearances last season that he has the potential to become a consistent first grader.”

Denniss has embarked on his first NRL pre-season this month, and says he’s looking forward to further developing his game.

“I’m very happy to have re-signed and I’m looking forward to being a part of the Club moving forward,” he said.

“I’m finding my first NRL pre-season tough, but I’m enjoying every minute of it and it’s always been a dream of mine to play for the Knights.”

Knights 2021 Player Movements

2021 Gains
Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra Dragons, 2023), Blake Green (New Zealand Warriors, 2021), Bailey Hodgson (2023), Jack Johns (South Sydney Rabbitohs, 2021), Sauaso Sue (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, 2022), Dominic Young (2023)
2021 Losses
Herman Ese'ese (Gold Coast Titans), Tim Glasby (retired), Aidan Guerra (retired), Mason Lino (Wakefield Trinity), Sione Mata'utia (St Helens RLFC), Andrew McCullough (Brisbane Broncos)
Mitch Barnett (2023), Blake Green (2021), Josh King (2021), Jirah Momoisea (2022), Kalyn Ponga (2024), Daniel Saifiti (2022), Jacob Saifiti (2022), Pasami Saulo (2022), Starford To'a (2023), Enari Tuala (2021), Connor Watson (2021)
Off Contract 2021
Phoenix Crossland, Lachlan Fitzgibbon, Blake Green, Tex Hoy, Hymel Hunt, Jack Johns, Brodie Jones, Josh King, Edrick Lee, Kurt Mann, Mitchell Pearce, Enari Tuala, Connor Watson

Comments are closed.