MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 25: (EDITORS NOTE: This image has been digitally altered) Billy Slater of the Storm poses during a Melbourne Storm NRL training session at Gosch's Paddock on September 25, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images)

The perfect week continues for Storm fans with Billy Slater committing to play on in purple in 2018.

The champion fullback has agreed to terms a new one-year deal with Melbourne which will see him add yet another chapter to his illustrious career.Today’s announcement comes just two days after Slater was awarded the Clive Churchill medal for his best-afield performance in Storm’s 34-6 Grand Final victory over the North Queensland Cowboys.

Today’s announcement comes just two days after Slater was awarded the Clive Churchill medal for his best-afield performance in Storm’s 34-6 Grand Final victory over the North Queensland Cowboys.

Slater has played 299 games across 15 seasons in the purple jersey and over that time he has become as the best fullback of his generation and arguably the greatest No.1 of all time.

A two-time Storm Player of the Year, three-time Dally M Fullback of the Year, two-time Clive Churchill Medallist and 2008 Golden Boot award winner, Slater has also played in six grand finals for Melbourne, winning four of them.

The 34-year-old has been the comeback story of the 2017 NRL season.

After spending much of the last two years sidelined through injury, Slater has bounced back to his scintillating best.

He made his NRL comeback amid much fanfare in Round 3 against the Brisbane Broncos at AAMI Park and from that point on has wasted little time in re-asserting himself as the best fullback in the game, scoring 11 tries in 21 games this season as well as leading Storm for try assists, with 17 to his name.

SEE ALSO:  Keary to miss Origin opener with concussion

Slater also made a successful return to the Origin arena, with his comeback in Game II proving instrumental in Queensland overturning a 1-nil series deficit to retain the Shield.

Slater has provided Storm fans with a lifetime of highlights and now they can look forward to another 12 months of brilliance from their superstar No.1.

“We are delighted that Billy has made the decision to pull on the purple jersey again in 2018,” Storm CEO Dave Donaghy said.

“He has been a champion of this Club and NRL for over a decade so it is fantastic for the game as a whole that Billy will be back on the field next year.

“Billy has overcome a great deal of adversity in recent years. The fact he has not only return but is back to his best this season is a true testament to his professionalism, dedication and incredible resilience.

“Our young players will now have another season to play alongside and learn from one of our Club’s all-time greats, which will be invaluable for the future of Melbourne Storm.”

Melbourne Storm 2018 Player Movements

2018 Gains
Tom Eisenhuth (2020), Ryan Hoffman (New Zealand Warriors, 2018), Cooper Johns (2019), Sam Kasiano (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, 2021), Patrick Kaufusi (North Queensland Cowboys, 2019), Kayleb Milne (2020), Ryan Papenhuyzen (Wests Tigers, 2020), Junior Ratuvu (2018), Marion Seve (Brisbane Broncos, 2020), Albert Vete (New Zealand Warriors, 2019), Billy Walters (2019)
2018 Losses
Jesse Arthars (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Dean Britt (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Cooper Cronk (Sydney Roosters), Charlie Galo (released), Slade Griffin (Newcastle Knights), Tohu Harris (New Zealand Warriors), Jeremy Hawkins (released), Vincent Leuluai (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Jordan McLean (North Queensland Cowboys), Nate Myles (retired), Mark Nicholls (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Robbie Rochow (Wests Tigers), Jake Turpin (Brisbane Broncos)
Josh Addo-Carr (2021), Nelson Asofa-Solomona (2023), Cheyse Blair (2022), Jesse Bromwich (2022), Kenneath Bromwich (2020), Will Chambers (2020), Brodie Croft (2021), Dale Finucane (2021), Jahrome Hughes (2021), Ryley Jacks (2019), Felise Kaufusi (2022), Billy Slater (2018), Brandon Smith (2022), Joe Stimson (2019), Suliasi Vunivalu (2020), Christian Welch (2020)
Off Contract 2019
Patrick Kaufusi, Joe Stimson, Albert Vete, Billy Walters
SEE ALSO:  LIVE: Rabbitohs vs Wests Tigers - Round 11, 2019


Comments are closed.