Raiders hooker Adam Clydsdale has joined the Sharks for the remainder of the 2017 season.

Originally from Scone, the 24-year-old Clydsdale debuted in the NRL for Newcastle, playing his first match back in 2013, before going on to play 38 top-grade games for the Knights over three seasons.

He switched to the Raiders in 2016 and has played 15 matches for Canberra, 11 during the current NRL season.

Clydsdale was released by the Raiders today and will begin training with the Sharks from Monday.

His signing will add some much-needed depth in the dummy half position for the Sharks who will be without Jayden Brailey for six to eight weeks with a broken jaw, while James Segeyaro has yet to return since breaking his arm back in round six.

Daniel Mortimer was released by the Sharks last week to enable him to take up an opportunity with Leigh in the English Super League.

Cronulla Sharks 2018 Player Movements

2018 Gains
Josh Dugan (St George Illawarra Dragons, 2021), Jackson Ferris (2020), Aaron Gray (South Sydney Rabbitohs, 2019), Braden Hamlin-Uele (North Queensland Cowboys, 2022), Trent Hodkinson (Newcastle Knights, 2019), Sione Katoa (2020), Matt Moylan (Penrith Panthers, 2021), James Roumanos (2021), Ava Seumanufagai (Wests Tigers, 2021), Scott Sorensen (Canberra Raiders, 2019), Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers, 2021), Bronson Xerri (2021)
2018 Losses
Gerard Beale (New Zealand Warriors), Jack Bird (Brisbane Broncos), Fa'amanu Brown (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Manaia Cherrington (New Zealand Warriors), Adam Clydsdale (retired), Jordan Drew (released), Chris Heighington (Newcastle Knights), Jeremy Latimore (St George Illawarra Dragons), James Maloney (Penrith Panthers), Daniel Mortimer (Leigh Centurions), Sam Tagataese (Brisbane Broncos), Jayden Walker (Penrith Panthers), Tony Williams (Parramatta Eels)
Kurt Capewell (2019), Kurt Dillon (2020), Sosaia Feki (2022), Andrew Fifita (2022), Paul Gallen (2019), Wade Graham (2022), Valentine Holmes (2018), Luke Lewis (2018), Billy Magoulias (2021), Joseph Paulo (2021), Matt Prior (2020), Chad Townsend (2020)
Off Contract 2019
Kurt Capewell, Aaron Gray, William Kennedy, Ronaldo Mulitalo, Scott Sorensen, Teig Wilton