The Wests Tigers have confirmed the signing of talented Queenslander Tyson Gamble for the coming two seasons.

Gamble will join Wests Tigers ahead of the 2018 NRL season, with the 20-year-old currently playing for Redcliffe Dolphins in Queensland’s Intrust Super Cup.

Gamble, who predominately plays in the halves, has impressed since making his Intrust Super Cup debut for Redcliffe earlier this season.

Gamble played in the Dolphins’ Brisbane Rugby League side in 2017 and received the Don McLennan Trophy for being the best player in last year’s Grand Final.

Wests Tigers Recruitment Manager David Warwick said that the club looked forward to having Gamble arrive for pre-season training at the end of the year.

“Tyson has been impressive in his first season in the Intrust Super Cup and we look forward to him making the move to Sydney to join us for the next two seasons,” said Warwick.

Wests Tigers CEO Justin Pascoe welcomed Gamble to the club.

“Over the last month we’ve made a number of strong additions to our club for the coming seasons,” said Pascoe. “Tyson is an impressive young man and we’re keen to see him continue his development with Wests Tigers.”

Wests Tigers 2018 Player Movements

2018 Gains
Oliver Clark (Penrith Panthers, 2020), Robbie Farah (South Sydney Rabbitohs, 2019), Mahe Fonua (Hull FC, 2019), Tyson Gamble (2019), Luke Garner (2019), Heath Gibbs (2018), Pita Godinet (Manly Sea Eagles, 2018), Tuimoala Lolohea (New Zealand Warriors, 2021), Benji Marshall (Brisbane Broncos, 2019), Ben Matulino (New Zealand Warriors, 2020), Moses Mbye (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, 2022), Sam McIntyre (2019), Chris McQueen (Gold Coast Titans, 2020), Thomas Mikaele (2019), Taane Milne (St George Illawarra Dragons, 2019), Russell Packer (St George Illawarra Dragons, 2021), Josh Reynolds (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, 2021), Robbie Rochow (Melbourne Storm, 2019), Dylan Smith (2019), Corey Thompson (Widnes Vikings, 2019), Alex Twal (Parramatta Eels, 2020), Malakai Watene-Zelezniak (Penrith Panthers, 2019)
2018 Losses
Matt Ballin (retired), Joel Edwards (released), Justin Hunt (retired), Jamal Idris (retired), Jack Littlejohn (Salford Red Devils), Kyle Lovett (Leigh Centurions), Jeremy Marshall-King (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Mitchell Moses (Parramatta Eels), Ryan Papenhuyzen (Melbourne Storm), Jordan Rankin (Huddersfield Giants), Ava Seumanufagai (Cronulla Sharks), Moses Suli (Manly Sea Eagles), Tevita Tatola (South Sydney Rabbitohs), James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters), Aaron Woods (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
Josh Aloiai (2019), Luke Brooks (2023), Michael Chee-Kam (2019), Matthew Eisenhuth (2020), Tim Grant (2019), Jacob Liddle (2019), Matt McIlwrick (2019), Kevin Naiqama (2021), David Nofoaluma (2021), Elijah Taylor (2020)
Off Contract 2019
Josh Aloiai, Michael Chee-Kam, Robbie Farah, Mahe Fonua, Tyson Gamble, Luke Garner, Chris Lawrence, Jacob Liddle, Benji Marshall, Sam McIntyre, Thomas Mikaele, Robbie Rochow, Dylan Smith, Corey Thompson
SEE ALSO:  NRL Team of the Week: Round One


  1. There aren’t too many good sixes that aren’t already aligned to an NRL club. Walters, Laybutt and Jacks are the standouts.

Comments are closed.