TOWNSVILLE, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 08: Jamal Idris of the Tigers runs the ball during the round six NRL match between the North Queensland Cowboys and the Wests Tigers at 1300SMILES Stadium on April 8, 2017 in Townsville, Australia. (Photo by Brendon Thorne/Getty Images)

The Wests Tigers have confirmed nine players that won’t be with the club next season.

The club held their annual awards ceremony last night and revealed a number of players who would not be returning to the Wests Tigers in 2018.

It was already well-known that James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters), Aaron Woods (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs) and Ava Seumanufagai (Cronulla Sharks) were leaving the club at the end of the season after signing deals with new clubs earlier in the year.

The Tigers had also previously announced that veteran hooker Matt Ballin had been forced into immediate retirement due to his knee injuries.

The club has now also confirmed that off contract players Joel Edwards, Justin Hunt, Jamal Idris, Jack Littlejohn and Kyle Lovett would not be re-signed by the club.

The Wests Tigers thanked each of the players for their individual service over the years and wish them all the best in their future endeavours.

The playing roster for the Wests Tigers has undertaken a major overhaul for 2018, with the likes of Josh Reynolds, Russell Packer, Ben Matulino and Benji Marshall all joining the club.

The club has also re-signed a number of key players from this season with stars Luke Brooks, Elijah Taylor and David Nofoaluma all agreeing to new deals under head coach Ivan Cleary.

SEE ALSO:  FINAL TEAMS: Rabbitohs vs Wests Tigers

Wests Tigers 2018 Player Movements

2018 Gains
Oliver Clark (Penrith Panthers, 2020), Robbie Farah (South Sydney Rabbitohs, 2019), Mahe Fonua (Hull FC, 2019), Tyson Gamble (2019), Luke Garner (2020), Heath Gibbs (2018), Pita Godinet (Manly Sea Eagles, 2018), Tuimoala Lolohea (New Zealand Warriors, 2021), Benji Marshall (Brisbane Broncos, 2019), Ben Matulino (New Zealand Warriors, 2020), Moses Mbye (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, 2022), Sam McIntyre (2020), Chris McQueen (Gold Coast Titans, 2020), Thomas Mikaele (2019), Taane Milne (St George Illawarra Dragons, 2020), Russell Packer (St George Illawarra Dragons, 2021), Josh Reynolds (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, 2021), Robbie Rochow (Melbourne Storm, 2019), Dylan Smith (2020), Corey Thompson (Widnes Vikings, 2019), Alex Twal (Parramatta Eels, 2020), Malakai Watene-Zelezniak (Penrith Panthers, 2020)
2018 Losses
Matt Ballin (retired), Joel Edwards (released), Justin Hunt (retired), Jamal Idris (retired), Jack Littlejohn (Salford Red Devils), Kyle Lovett (Leigh Centurions), Jeremy Marshall-King (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Mitchell Moses (Parramatta Eels), Ryan Papenhuyzen (Melbourne Storm), Jordan Rankin (Huddersfield Giants), Ava Seumanufagai (Cronulla Sharks), Moses Suli (Manly Sea Eagles), Tevita Tatola (South Sydney Rabbitohs), James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters), Aaron Woods (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
Josh Aloiai (2019), Luke Brooks (2023), Michael Chee-Kam (2019), Matthew Eisenhuth (2020), Tim Grant (2019), Jacob Liddle (2019), Matt McIlwrick (2019), Kevin Naiqama (2021), David Nofoaluma (2021), Elijah Taylor (2020)
Off Contract 2019
Josh Aloiai, Michael Chee-Kam, Robbie Farah, Mahe Fonua, Tyson Gamble, Chris Lawrence, Jacob Liddle, Benji Marshall, Thomas Mikaele, Robbie Rochow, Corey Thompson
SEE ALSO:  Statistically, just how consistent are NRL referees?


  1. Good move by the club…none of those players will be missed, and I doubt any other NRL club will pick them up either.

    • Lay off the crack pipe Idris will be picked up little john will be a handy back up and will be snapped up
      Kyle Lovett is being looked at by several clubs as we speak and Ava has been signed by the Sharks
      Joel Edwards will be snapped up no questions I know the Titans and Cowboys are looking at him

  2. Lol what was the point of signing Idris in the first place? The others were ok but I think Jack Littlejohn should have been extended for another year at least as a backup for brooksy or Jrey

  3. The Tigers have picked up some good but no elite players and unfortunately they lost their only world class player. Hopefully the purchase of the half dozen good players makes up for the loss of Tedesco. I have my doubts.

  4. What’s the point of keeping Littlejohn as we have plenty of depth in the halves / utility positions. Brooks, Reynolds, Tui, Marshall are all better players plus i would rather keep Benji’s bother and see how he develops.

Comments are closed.