SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - JULY 27: Tyrone May of the Panthers runs with the ball during the round 21 NRL match between the Penrith Panthers and the Canterbury Bulldogs at Pepper Stadium on July 27, 2017 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Matt King/Getty Images)

The Penrith Panthers have announced Tyrone May has signed a new two-year deal with the club.

The contract extension means the 21-year-old playmaker will remain with Panthers until at least the end of the 2020 season.

"I was always focused on staying here and I never really wanted to leave," May said.

"When the (contract) offer came up, I just accepted and was really happy and excited.

"It's really good that Panthers have shown faith in me even though I’ve got an injury."

A local junior, May progressed through the grades at Panthers and was a member of the club's premiership-winning NYC side in 2015.

He made his NRL debut in Round 19 last season and helped orchestrate an incredible comeback victory over New Zealand Warriors.

His rookie season ended with five tries from nine NRL appearances and, unfortunately, an ACL injury suffered in the Semi Final defeat to Brisbane Broncos.

"Tyrone is another local junior who has been a part of the Panthers development system since he was 15 years of age," Panthers Executive General Manager Phil Gould AM said.

"It was exciting to see him come through to NRL level last season and he acquitted himself brilliantly.

"We are grateful to have him as part of our club. I’m confident he has a long and successful career ahead."

Panthers 2023 Player Movements

2023 Gains
Jack Cogger (Huddersfield Giants, 2023), Luke Garner (Wests Tigers, 2024), Zac Hosking (Brisbane Broncos, 2024), Tyrone Peachey (Wests Tigers, 2023), Niwhai Puru (2023)
2023 Losses
J'maine Hopgood (Parramatta Eels), Robert Jennings (The Dolphins), Viliame Kikau (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Apisai Koroisau (Wests Tigers), Sean O'Sullivan (The Dolphins), Charlie Staines (Wests Tigers)
Eddie Blacker (2023), Nathan Cleary (2027), Dylan Edwards (2024), Matthew Eisenhuth (2024), Mitch Kenny (2024), Taylan May (2024), Chris Smith (2023), Lindsay Smith (2024), Izack Tago (2025), Sunia Turuva (2024)
Off Contract 2023
Eddie Blacker, Jack Cogger, Jack Cole, Stephen Crichton, Mavrik Geyer, Thomas Jenkins, Spencer Leniu, Soni Luke, Liam Martin, Tyrone Peachey, Niwhai Puru, Preston Riki, Chris Smith, Scott Sorensen, Brian To'o

Comments are closed.