BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - JULY 11: James Tedesco of the Blues scores a try during game three of the State of Origin series between the Queensland Maroons and the New South Wales Blues at Suncorp Stadium on July 11, 2018 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Bradley Kanaris/Getty Images)

Roosters fullback James Tedesco was named the 2018 Brad Fittler Medal winner after his stellar performances in all three games of this year’s State of Origin series.

Tedesco, commonly known as Teddy, finished the series with more tackle breaks and post-contact metres than any other player in the series.

The NSW fullback made 25 tackle breaks and racked up a total of 504 running metres, including 145.3m of them in post-contact metres across all three games.

The 25-year-old beat out fellow teammate Josh Addo-Carr (22) for most tackle breaks, while also edging out run machines Dane Gagai (145.2m) and Greg Inglis (138.8m) for most post-contact metres.

The majority of the damage was done in first game at the MCG where Tedesco started off in blistering form, notching up a record breaking 17 tackle breaks, which saw him claim Man of the Match honours.

Tedesco was awarded the states top prize in front of more than 600 guests at The Star Event Centre, where the awards night celebrates all the achievements made across all NSWRL teams and competitions.

Players from this year’s Origin series, along with seniors, juniors, women and Indigenous players were recognised for their efforts in the 2018 season.

Teddy was voted the Brad Fittler medal winner by his teammates in a 3-2-1 system after every match, and now joins elite company with previous winners consisting of David Klemmer (2017), Josh Jackson (2016) and Josh Dugan (2015).

Other winners on the night included first time Origin player Tom Trbojevic claiming the True Blue award, while debutant hooker Damien Cook was voted the Daily Telegraphs People’s Choice Award by Blues supporters online.

Simaima Taufa toke out the Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership Player of the Year after her outstanding 2018 form, while Isabelle Kelly claimed the Harvey Norman NSW Women’s Inaugural Women’s State of Origin Player of the Year.

Comments are closed.