North Queensland Toyota Cowboys prop Scott Bolton will join front-row teammate Matt Scott as a career Cowboy after agreeing to a two-year contract extension.

The 30-year-old Innisfail product has re-signed until the end of the 2019 season as his decade-plus stint at the club continues.

“I’m really pleased to be able to continue on with this great club,” Bolton said.

“I’ve been fortunate to have played my whole career in my home region, and I’ve loved sharing in the success we’ve had with my teammates and our members and fans.

“To be able to do what you love while sharing it with family and friends week-in, week-out is truly special.”

Currently, in his 11th season at the club, Bolton has played 190 National Rugby League games after debuting as a 19-year-old in 2007.

Since then, he has been a mainstay of the Cowboys forward pack, playing as a back-rower early in his career before partnering with Matt Scott in the front row.

This year has seen the quietly-spoken North Queenslander take more of an on-field leadership role as Matt Scott overcomes a knee injury.

“Scott typifies what the Cowboys are about,” said General Manager – Football Peter Parr.

“Aside from being a very good footballer, he is a true team man and is someone our younger forwards turn to for advice and guidance.

“He was huge for us in our premiership year in 2015 and is this season playing what I believe is some of his best football.”

Earlier this year, Bolton’s fellow prop Matt Scott also signed a two-year extension, while the club’s forward stocks have been further shored up with Jason Taumalolo, John Asiata and Gavin Cooper all extending their time.

Cowboys 2025 Player Movements

2025 Gains
Karl Lawton (Manly Sea Eagles, 2026)
2025 Losses
Tom Chester (2025), Tom Dearden (2029), Zac Laybutt (2025), Sam McIntyre (2026)
Off Contract 2024
Jodeci Baker-Tiraha, Jake Clifford, Kyle Feldt, Kulikefu Finefeuiaki, Jake Granville, Jai Hansen, Coen Hess, Kaiden Lahrs, Jordan McLean, Thomas Mikaele, Wil Sullivan, Jamayne Taunoa-Brown, Chad Townsend, Semi Valemei

Comments are closed.