SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 06: Dylan Edwards of the Panthers is tackled during the round 22 NRL match between the Penrith Panthers and the Wests Tigers at Pepper Stadium on August 6, 2017 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

The Penrith Panthers have announced Dylan Edwards has signed a new two-year deal with the club.

The contract extension means the 21-year-old fullback will remain with the club until at least the end of the 2020 season.

“It feels great – I’m really excited about my future here,” Edwards said.

“The boys are coming closer and closer every year… you come into work with a bunch of your mates every day.

“We’ve got a lot of talent (at Panthers) and hopefully it comes to fruition throughout the next couple of years and we get some really good results.”

Hailing from Dorrigo in the north of NSW, Edwards progressed through the junior grades at Panthers and was a member of the premiership-winning NYC side in 2015.

SEE ALSO:  Brimson to go under the knife

He made his NRL debut the following year before a string of impressive performances in 2017 saw him establish himself as the club’s first-choice fullback.

Edwards capped off his breakthrough season with being nominated for the Dally M Rookie of the Year Award.

“Dylan is the perfect example of how success smiles on hard work and persistence,” Panthers Executive General Manager Phil Gould AM said.

“I’m confident he has a great career ahead of him and we are extremely lucky to have such a quality young man at our club.”

Penrith Panthers 2019 Player Movements

2019 Gains
Tim Grant (Wests Tigers, 2019)
2019 Losses
Oliver Clark (Wests Tigers), Christian Crichton (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Tom Eisenhuth (Melbourne Storm), Corey Harawira-Naera (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Tyrone Peachey (Gold Coast Titans), Jayden Walker (retired), Peter Wallace (retired)
Caleb Aekins (2020), Reagan Campbell-Gillard (2024), Nathan Cleary (2024), Dylan Edwards (2020), Kaide Ellis (2020), Viliame Kikau (2022), Nick Lui-Toso (2020), Josh Mansour (2021), Tyrone May (2020), Isaah Yeo (2021)
Off Contract 2018
Jack Hetherington, Adam Keighran, Jarome Luai, Soni Luke, Chad O'Donnell, Joey Peato, Tyrone Phillips, Corey Waddell
SEE ALSO:  Panthers re-sign Cleary on long-term extension


Comments are closed.