The 2017 season will be the last for the sometimes maligned National Youth Competition. While not everyone goes on to play in the NRL, plenty of players have made the step up.

To commiserate the end of the competition, we've taken a look back over the years compiling each Team of the Year, as well as the Premiers, Player of the Season and Jack Gibson Medal winners. Enjoy!


2008 Team of the Year

GOLD COAST, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 08: Jordan Rapana of the Raiders during the round six NRL match between the Gold Coast Titans and the Canberra Raiders at Cbus Super Stadium on April 8, 2017 in Gold Coast, Australia. (Photo by Jason O'Brien/Getty Images)

The 2008 NYC Team of the Year.

  1. Lachlan Coote (Panthers)
  2. Jharal Yow Yeh (Broncos)
  3. Justin Carney (Raiders)
  4. Tony Williams (Eels)
  5. Kevin Gordon (Titans)
  6. Ben Barba (Bulldogs)
  7. Chris Sandow (Rabbitohs)
  8. Russell Packer (Warriors)
  9. Masada Iosefa (Panthers)
  10. Sione Kite (Bulldogs)
  11. Joel Thompson (Raiders)
  12. Daniel Harrison (Bulldogs)
  13. Shaun Fensom (Raiders)
  14. Ben Hunt (Broncos)
  15. Matt Mundine (Dragons)
  16. Jordan Rapana (Titans)
  17. Ben Matulino (Warriors)