The NRL has announced the match officials that will take take the field in the Holden State of Origin Series Game One, held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Wednesday, June 6.

The match referees are Gerard Sutton and Ashley Klein, who will be joined by Nick Beashel and Brett Suttor as touch judges.

Sutton is a veteran official and has been involved in the previous 10 consecutive State of Origin matches, while Klein will be making his first appearance back in the Origin series since 2013.

The NRL will require officials to be stationed in the NRL Bunker for match review purposes, so the league has elected Senior Review Official Steve Chiddy and Review Official Ben Galea.

The league hand picks the officials through the referees appointments committee, run by Senior Manager of Officiating Bernard Sutton, who is responsible for the elected referee lineup for Game One of Origin.

"We took into account form, consistency and experience when nominating the officiating group," Sutton told

"Both the referees have been in excellent form over the opening rounds of the season and will take that form into the opening Origin game."

The match officials for Game One of the Holden State of Origin series, on June 6, are:

Referee: Gerard Sutton
Assistant Referee: Ashley Klein
Senior Review Official: Steve Chiddy
Review Official: Ben Galea
Touch Judges: Nick Beashel, Brett Suttor
Standby Referee: Ben Cummins
Standby Touch Judge: Chris Butler

Comments are closed.