CANBERRA, AUSTRALIA - MAY 05: Kodi Nikorima of the Kiwis watches on during the ANZAC Test match between the Australian Kangaroos and the New Zealand Kiwis at GIO Stadium on May 5, 2017 in Canberra, Australia. (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

The Kiwis and Junior Kiwis have both announced their wider Test squads ahead of the Trans-Tasman Test between Australia and New Zealand on October 13.

The Kiwis, Junior Kiwis and Kiwi Ferns will host Australia’s women’s, junior men’s and men’s side at Mt Smart Stadium, and Kiwis coach Michael McGuire has named a squad of players in the running to make the Test side.

McGuire will take control of just his second Test following the England match in Denver earlier this season, and the former Rabbitohs coach is “looking forward to the re-introduction of senior players such as Shaun Johnson, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck and Tohu Harris who will inject years of experience and leadership back into the squad.”

All squads will be narrowed down next month ahead of the Test matches.

Kiwis wider squad:

Brisbane Broncos: Jamayne Isaako, Jordan Kahu, Kodi Nikorima;
Canberra Raiders: Jordan Rapana, Joseph Tapine;
Canterbury Bulldogs: Raymond Faitala-Mariner, Reimis Smith;
Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks: Sosaia Feki;
Gold Coast Titans: Kevin Proctor;
Manly Sea Eagles: Martin Taupau;
Melbourne Storm: Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Jesse Bromwich, Kenneath Bromwich, Jahrome Hughes, Brandon Smith;
Newcastle Knights: Herman Ese’ese, Danny Levi;
North Queensland Cowboys: Te Maire Martin;
Penrith Panthers: James Fisher-Harris, Corey Harawira-Naera, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Dean Whare;
St George Illawarra Dragons: Leeson Ah Mau;
Sydney Roosters: Isaac Liu, Joseph Manu, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves;
New Zealand Warriors: Gerard Beale, Adam Blair, Tohu Harris, Peta Hiku, Shaun Johnson, Issac Luke, Ken Maumalo, Isaiah Papali’i, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck;
Wests Tigers: Esan Marsters.

SEE ALSO:  Inglis' retirement creating salary cap discussions


Junior Kiwis wider squad:

Brisbane Broncos: Rory Ferguson, Jordan Riki;
Canberra Raiders: Paul Roache;
Canterbury Bulldogs: Morgan Harper;
Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks: Jackson Ferris, Cruz Topaz-Aveai;
Gold Coast Titans: Darius Farmer, Moeaki Fotuaika, Jaxson Paulo, Kea Pere;
Manly Sea Eagles: Manase Fainu, Tevita Funa, Moses Suli;
Melbourne Storm: Kayleb Milne, Junior Rutava, Kelma Tuilagi;
Newcastle Knights: Pasame Saulo;
North Queensland Cowboys: Peter Hola, Sean Mullany, Emry Pere, Murray Taulagi;
Parramattah Eels: Tui Afualo, Dylan Brown, Haze Dunstar, Oregon Kaufusi;
Penrith Panthers: Dean Blore;
St George Illawarra Dragons: Steven Marsters;
Sydney Roosters: Bailey Bentley-Harper;
South Sydney Rabbitohs: Jesse Arthars, Mawene Hiroti, Lucky Ta’avale;
New Zealand Warriors: Tom Ale, Chanel Harris-Tavita, Hayze Perham, Preston Riki, Tyler Slade, Lewis Soosemea, Paul Turner, Joseph Vuna.


  1. They chose Whare, Beale & Hiku there. Whare’s out injured now. He would have to be one of the worst centres in first grade. Hiku’s defence is terrible . Beale is not that much better.
    So hope they are planning to put Hughes & maybe Masters in the centres . At least it’s a new look & better players than the others.

    • Whare’s the best defensive centre in the league. Needed for stopping Inglis and Mitchell. But Masters will have to be in the other centre with Isaako.

Comments are closed.