BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - DECEMBER 02: James Graham of England thanks the crowd after the 2017 Rugby League World Cup Final between the Australian Kangaroos and England at Suncorp Stadium on December 2, 2017 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Bradley Kanaris/Getty Images)

England have named five uncapped players in their 24-man squad for their upcoming Tests against France and New Zealand.

England coach Wayne Bennett has added Wakefield pair Tom Johnstone and Reece Lyne, St Helens forward Luke Thompson, Castleford’s Adam Milner and Wigan’s Joe Greenwood to the squad, with the new additions in line to make their debuts for their country.

Six NRL players have been named, with the Burgess brothers (George, Sam and Tom) joining Canberra’s Josh Hodgson and Elliott Whitehead in the side, along with St George Illawarra’s James Graham.

“The England team have an attractive and important series of matches this autumn, and the players are relishing the prospect of representing their country in front of home crowds again,” Bennett said after announcing the team.

“It’s important that we build on the positive work of the last couple of years, including last year’s World Cup and the Denver Test, against what we’d expect to be the usual stern challenge from the Kiwis.”

England will face France on OCtober 17, before taking on New Zealand in a three-Test series on October 27, November 4 and November 11.


John Bateman (Wigan Warriors)

George Burgess (South Sydney)

Sam Burgess (South Sydney)

Tom Burgess (South Sydney)

Daryl Clark (Warrington Wolves)

Jake Connor (Hull FC)

Luke Gale (Castleford Tigers)

James Graham (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Joe Greenwood (Wigan Warriors)

Chris Hill (Warrington Wolves)

Josh Hodgson (Canberra Raiders)

Tom Johnstone (Wakefield Trinity)

Jonny Lomax (St Helens)

Reece Lyne (Wakefield Trinity)

Tommy Makinson (St Helens)

Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants)

Adam Milner (Castleford Tigers)

Sean O’Loughlin (Wigan Warriors)

Mark Percival (St Helens)

Stefan Ratchford (Warrington Wolves)

Luke Thompson (St Helens)

Sam Tomkins (Wigan Warriors)

Elliott Whitehead (Canberra Raiders)

George Williams (Wigan Warriors)

Comments are closed.