TOWNSVILLE, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 16: Ben Hannant of the Cowboys takes on the defence during the first NRL semi final between North Queensland Cowboys and Brisbane Brisbane at 1300SMILES Stadium on September 16, 2016 in Townsville, Australia. (Photo by Bradley Kanaris/Getty Images)

Veteran prop Ben Hannant has agreed to terms with the North Queensland Cowboys and will line up for a third season with the club in 2017.

Hannant, 31, joined the Cowboys in 2015, and was a member of the premiership-winning team from that year as the Cowboys defeated the Brisbane Broncos 17-16 to win an inaugural National Rugby League title for the club.

To date, the Gold Coast product has played 52 games for the Cowboys over two seasons, largely coming off the interchange bench in coach Paul Green’s forward rotation.

In announcing Hannant’s re-signing for the 2017 season, Cowboys General Manager – Football Peter Parr said the club had retained a proven NRL performer who had established himself over a long and successful rugby league career.

“Ben’s contribution to this team over the past two seasons can never be undervalued,” Parr said.

“In his time here, he has shown himself to be a consistent performer, he’s professional, and his experience from more than a decade playing professional rugby league at the highest level is something he has willingly passed on to our emerging forwards.”

The re-signing continues the Cowboys’ strong retention policy with a number of the 2015 premiership team entering into new deals for the 2017 season and beyond, including State of Origin and Australian centre Justin O’Neill; 2016 Most Improved Cowboy Ethan Lowe; outside backs Antonio Winterstein and Kane Linnett; and fullback Lachlan Coote.

North Queensland Cowboys 2017 Player Movements

2017 Gains
Jake Clifford (2020), Shaun Fensom (Canberra Raiders, 2019), Ben Hampton (Melbourne Storm, 2019), Corey Jensen (2019), Blake Leary (Manly Sea Eagles, 2017), Te Maire Martin (Penrith Panthers, 2019), Emry Pere (2020), Murray Taulagi (2021), Enari Tuala (2019), Shane Wright (Gold Coast Titans, 2020)
2017 Losses
Ben Hannant (retired), Jahrome Hughes (Melbourne Storm), Rory Kostjasyn (Newcastle Knights), Tautau Moga (Brisbane Broncos), Brandon Smith (Melbourne Storm), James Tamou (Penrith Panthers), Matthew Wright (Manly Sea Eagles)
Javid Bowen (2019), Josh Chudleigh (2018), Lachlan Coote (2021), Sam Hoare (2018), Marcus Jensen (2018), Patrick Kaufusi (2019), Kane Linnett (2021), Ethan Lowe (2021), Justin O'Neill (2021), Antonio Winterstein (2018)
Off Contract 2019
Kurt Baptiste, Scott Bolton, Javid Bowen, Gavin Cooper, Mitchell Dunn, Ben Hampton, Corey Jensen, Jordan Kahu, Te Maire Martin, Gideon Mosby-Gela, Matthew Scott, Enari Tuala

Comments are closed.