SALFORD, ENGLAND - APRIL 26: Ben Barba of St Helens celebrates scores a first half try during the Betfred Super League match between Salford Red Devils and St Helens at AJ Bell Stadium on April 26, 2018 in Salford, England. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

Ben Barba is leaving the English Super League on a high note by claiming the competitions highest individual award.

Barba, 29 years of age, played the 2018 season with club St Helens which saw he take out the prestigious Man of Steel award on Tuesday.

The fullback also claimed the league’s highest try scorer award with 28 tries at the annual ceremony in Manchester.

He also finished the season being ranked second for tackle breaks with 141 and third for try assists with 24.

Barba will join the North Queensland Cowboys for the 2019 NRL season, which will be his first season back in the NRL after being suspended from the game at the end of 2016.

He beat out fellow St Helens teammate James Roby and Canberra Raiders bound forward John Bateman for the honour.

Barba becomes the sixth Australian to claim the prize, and first since 2010 when Pat Richards won the honour playing for Wigan.

The Man of Steel award is voted on by fellow players as Barba become the eighth St Helens player to be award the league’s best player since its introduction in 1977.

Below is the full list of Super League Award Winners –

Hit Man (Top tackler) – Paul McShane (Castleford Tigers)
Metre Maker – Bill Tupou (Wakefield Trinity)
Top Gun – Luke Gale (Castleford Tigers)
Top Try Scorer – Ben Barba (St Helens)
Foundation of the Year – Leeds Rhinos Foundation
Club of the Year – Warrington Wolves
Coach of the Year – Shaun Wane (Wigan Warriors)
Young Player of the Year – Jacob Trueman (Castleford Tigers)
Woman of Steel – Georgia Roche (Castleford Tigers)
Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel – Ben Barba (St Helens)