The Australian Rugby League Commission has today selected the following players to represent the Kangaroos in the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

Seven members of the Premiership-winning Melbourne Storm outfit have been selected in the Kangaroos squad, which will open its World Cup campaign against England on October 27.

The 24-man squad also includes six debutants; Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights), Wade Graham (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Felise Kaufusi, Jordan McLean, Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm) and Tom Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles).

"This squad has the right mix of youth and experience, as well as an overall balance across the positions for a World Cup campaign,” Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga said.

“It was selected based on form, performances in the State of Origin series as well as previously in the green and gold jersey.

“We have a number of players who can play multiple positions and that will be an advantage over the course of what we hope will be six matches.”

Fourteen players from the inaugural Kangaroos Origin Merit Team have been selected in the World Cup Squad.

Premiership-winning skipper Cameron Smith will captain the squad, while Sydney Roosters’ Boyd Cordner has been endorsed as Vice-Captain by Australian Rugby League Commission Chairman John Grant.

The full Kangaroos World Cup squad will travel to Fiji for an exhibition match against both Fiji and PNG on October 14.

Kangaroos World Cup Squad

Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)
Josh Mansour (Penrith Panthers)
Will Chambers (Melbourne Storm)
Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights)
Tom Trbojevic (Manly Sea Eagles)
Josh Dugan (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Valentine Holmes (Cronulla Sharks)
Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)
Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)
Michael Morgan (North Queensland Cowboys)
James Maloney (Cronulla Sharks)
Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)
David Klemmer (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
Josh McGuire (Brisbane Broncos)
Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Penrith Panthers)
Jake Trbojevic (Manly Sea Eagles)
Jordan McLean (Melbourne Storm)
Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters)
Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)
Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Wade Graham (Cronulla Sharks)
Felise Kaufusi (Melbourne Storm)
Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
Ben Hunt (Brisbane Broncos)

*Andrew Fifita was named originally but pulled out of the squad to play for Tonga and was replaced by Reagan Campbell-Gillard.

**Darius Boyd failed his medical due to a hamstring injury and was replaced by Josh Mansour.

Comments are closed.