Melbourne Storm Training Session
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JANUARY 04: Harry Grant trains during a Melbourne Storm NRL training session at Gosch's Paddock on January 04, 2021 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Darrian Traynor/Getty Images)

Newcastle and Melbourne have announced their squads for this Saturday's trial clash in Albury, with new recruits headlining inclusions for either side.

The Knights will welcome Tyson Frizell for his first game under Adam O'Brien, with Jayden Brailey and David Klemmer also notable ins for Newcastle.

Frizell will start in the No.11 jumper for the Knights with Brailey set to line up as rake, while Mitchell Pearce, Bradman Best and Daniel Saifiti headline the starters.

Storm fans will get a good taste of life without Cameron Smith, with Harry Grant set to play his first game in purple in over a year, while new Canterbury recruit Reimis Smith has been handed a starting role in the No.3 jumper.

Grant will start at hooker for Craig Bellamy, while captains Jesse Bromwich and Dale Finucane will start in their first game as co-captains in the No.8 and No.13 jumpers respectively.

Newcastle's Squad:

1. Tex Hoy

2. Starford To'a

3. Enari Tuala

4. Bradman Best

5. Gehamat Shibasaki

6. Phoenix Crossland

7. Mitchell Pearce

8. Daniel Saifiti

9. Jayden Brailey

10. David Klemmer

11. Tyson Frizell

12. Mitch Barnett

13. Connor Watson


14. Chris Randall

15. Jacob Saifiti

16. Sauaso Sue

17. Josh King

Extended Bench:

18. Simi Sasagi, 19. Brodie Jones, 20. Mat Croker, 21. Brayden Musgrove, 22. Pasami Saulo, 23. Dominic Young.


Melbourne's Squad:

  1. Ryan Papenhuyzen
  2. Dean Ieremia
  3. Reimis Smith
  4. Justin Olam
  5. Josh Addo-Carr
  6. Cameron Munster
  7. Jahrome Hughes
  8. Jesse Bromwich
  9. Harry Grant
  10. Nelson Asofa-Solomona
  11. Felise Kaufusi
  12. Kenny Bromwich
  13. Dale Finucane
  14. Brandon Smith
  15. Christian Welch
  16. Tui Kamikamica
  17. Tom Eisenhuth