SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 06: Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad of the Raiders looks on during the 2019 NRL Grand Final match between the Canberra Raiders and the Sydney Roosters at ANZ Stadium on October 06, 2019 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Jason McCawley/Getty Images)

New Zealand has named four debutants in their 22-man squad to take on Australia and Great Britain, with exciting Raiders fullback Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad headlining a long list of inclusions.

Kiwi coach Michael Maguire has also selected veterans Benji Marshall and Kieron Foran for the upcoming Tests in Wollongong (October 25), Auckland (November 2) and Christchurch (November 9).

Captain Dallin Watene-Zelezniak will miss the Tests due to injury, along with senior prop Jesse Bromwich, back rower James Fisher-Harris and centre Esan Marsters.


A notable omission from Maguire’s squad is Warriors veteran Kodi Nikorima, with the Kiwi playmaker unable to reach the level of form he found during New Zealand’s tour of England last year.

The exciting news surrounding the squad is Nicoll-Klokstad’s inclusion, with the Canberra young gun likely to line up as a centre with Marsters’ absence, while Jahrome Hughes is set to hold the fullback position.

Nicoll-Klokstad has enjoyed a breakout year in 2019, scoring 11 tries and contributing 11 linebreaks from 26 games with the Raiders after being released from the Warriors in February.

Braden Hamlin-Uele, Corey Harawira-Naera and Zane Tetevano join Nicoll-Klokstad as the rookies set to make their debut for New Zealand.

Jordan Rapana, Jamayne Isaako, Kevin Proctor and Joseph Tapine all return to international duties after the quartet missed their nations clash with Tonga in June.

15 of the 19 players that featured in the Tonga test have been named for the Kiwi’s upcoming fixtures.

Kiwis Squad: Leeson Ah Mau, Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Kenny Bromwich, Kieran Foran, Braden Hamlin-Uele, Corey Harawira-Naera, Jahrome Hughes, Jamayne Isaako, Shaun Johnson, Isaac Liu, Joseph Manu, Benji Marshall, Ken Maumalo, Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad, Briton Nikora, Kevin Proctor, Jordan Rapana, Brandon Smith, Joseph Tapine, Zane Tetevano, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves.


  1. Cool they picked Brown & Simonsson for the 9s .. agree they should’ve made this team
    Too.. blood them for YEARS to come!

    1. Jerome Hughes
    2. KenMaumalo
    3. CNK
    4. JoeyManu
    5. RTS
    6. ShaunJohnson
    7. BenjiMarshall

    8. JWH
    9. BrandonHughes
    10. LeesonAhmau
    11. BritonNikora
    12. KennyBromwich
    13. JosephTapine

    14. NAS
    15. BradenHamlin-Uele
    16. IsaacLiu
    17. KevinProctor

    18. Foran
    19. Rapana
    20. Isaako
    21. Tetevano
    22. CHN

  2. Wow how good is this Roosters team. It seems that when you play Nrl for Sydney, representative accolades follow.

    Rep teams 2019
    Tedesco, Mitchell, Keary, Cordner,

    Australua junior Kangaroos
    Radley, Butcher, Crichton

    Manu, JWH, Liu, Tetevano

    Tupou, Taukeiaho, Tupounuua

    That is 14 players who have reached their individual highest level of representative teams and all from thw Roosters. Excellent coaches at Sydney Roosters. Congratulations to all. Well done.

  3. RTS is fullback over Hughes, have Rapana on the wing and Hughes as bench utility. Would start NAS over Ah Mau. Would also think about starting Issac Liu over Jospeh Tapine. Liu will give you stronger carries and probably make more tackles in the middle to start the game off then Tapine can come in, plus Tapine can cover second row meaning Proctor can drop out.

    Rapana in for RTS, RTS to fullback, Hughes to the bench and Proctor out. (Possibly start Liu over Tapine)

  4. Good chance of many Roosters ending the off season very tired & possibly with a serious knee injury ,or something similar. So something for their supporters to look forward to .

  5. It is only a few extra games. Sounds like you are a disgruntled Penrith fan EOD who is wishing injury upon the Sydney club.
    Tall poppy syndrome is a disease of the mind. Clear your head mate and applaud this club for its unique achievements over the past two seasons as a RL fan. Probably will not happen again for quite a few seasons.

Comments are closed.