AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND - OCTOBER 13: Head coach Michael Maguire of the Kiwis celebrates with Jared Waerea-Hargreaves after winning the international Rugby League Test Match between the New Zealand Kiwis and the Australia Kangaroos at Mt Smart Stadium on October 13, 2018 in Auckland, New Zealand. (Photo by Hannah Peters/Getty Images)

Sydney Roosters prop Jared Waerea-Hargreaves has been named the New Zealand Rugby League Player of the Year Wednesday night’s NZRL awards.

The awards night saw twelve winners with Waerea-Hargreaves taking home the title after phenomenal stint with the New Zealand Kiwis in 2018.

A trio of New Zealand Warriors, Tyler Slade, Onjeurlina Leiataua and Ken Maumalo took home trophies, as did Sydney Rooster Jared Waerea-Hargreaves.

Kiwis coach Michael Maguire praised Waerea-Hargreaves for his impressive campaign in the four test matches played post NRL season.

“As a senior player within the Kiwi’s camp, Jared put a lot of time into discussing the growth of the Kiwi team,” he told

“He has immense passion towards where he wants to see the black and white jersey and this is a real quality of his.”

Waerea-Hargreaves (Kiwi #755) had one of his best seasons in the black and white jersey, covering over 130 run metres for all four end-of-season Test matches in England, and putting in a big performance in the Kiwis historic 26-24 win over Australia.

Joseph Manu was shortlisted for Rookie of the Year, but was narrowly ousted  by Ken Maumalo.

Here are the full list of award winners courtesy of

Pirtek Female Volunteer – Karen Gibbons Karen Gibbons (Akarana, Auckland)

Pirtek Male Volunteer – Lawrence Erihe (Mid Central, Manawatu)

Grassroots Club of the Year – South Pacific Raiders (Southern, Otago)

Domestic Coach of the Year – Keith Hanley (Akarana, Auckland)

Match Official of the Year – Paki Parkinson (Upper Central, Bay of Plenty)

NZ 16s Player of the Year – Sione Moala (Counties Manukau, Auckland)

NZ 18s Player of the Year – Tyler Slade (NZ Warriors)

Domestic Premier Player of the Year – Francis Leger (Akarana, Auckland)

Kiwi Fern Rookie of the Year – Onjeurlina Leiataua (NZ Warriors)

Kiwis Rookie of the Year – Ken Maumalo (NZ Warriors)

Kiwis Fern Player of the Year – Honey Hireme (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Kiwis Player of the Year | Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (Sydney Roosters)

Comments are closed.