SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - MAY 21: (L-R) Graeme Langlands, Bob Fulton, Andrew Johns, John Raper, Ron Coote and Norm Provan pose on stage after being inducted into the NSW Team of the Century before match one of the ARL State of Origin series between the New South Wales Blues and the Queensland Maroons at ANZ Stadium on May 21, 2008 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

With recent changes to the Immortal selection process, in addition to the possibility of two new immortals in 2018, the debate around who the ninth and tenth Immortal could be is underway.

5. Frank Burge

Known as one of the best forwards to ever play the game, Frank Burge played from 1911 until 1927 with Glebe and St. George.

Burge represented New South Wales on 18 occasions and Australia 13 times.

Since his death in 1958 Burge has been recognised for his ability during his career. In 2008 Burge was named on the interchange bench in the NRL’s team of the century as well as the New South Wales team of the century.

4. Mal Meninga

Mal Meninga is a Canberra, Queensland and Australia legend. Widely considered to be one of the best centres of the modern era Meninga could well have been the eighth Immortal.

Meninga is the only player to make four Kangaroo tours, captaining two of them, and was named at centre in both the Australia and Queensland teams of the century.

Meninga also had an incredible point scoring record which left him with many records that have only recently been passed by Jonathan Thurston.

3. Dally Messenger

Dally Messenger represented Eastern Suburbs from 1908 to 1913 and is the player for whom the Dally M player of the year award is named for.

This is not the only prestigious award Messenger has earned, as he was also named on the interchange bench for the Australian team of the century and on the wing for the New South Wales team of the century.

Such was Messenger’s impact during his playing days, a number of experts, including Mal Meninga, believe he should be the ninth Immortal.

2. Darren Lockyer

Darren Lockyer had a terrific career, transitioning from an excellent fullback to an even better five-eighth.

Lockyer played 357 games for the Broncos, 36 for Queensland and 59 for Australia and for many of those matches he was captain. His longevity in the game is incredible, particularly when considering he was still a terrific player by the time he retired.

Lockyer achieved many awards during his career, such as Clive Churchill and Wally Lewis medals, and is almost certain to become an Immortal at some stage.

1. Norm Provan

Already famous in the game of Rugby League Norm Provan has already been immortalised as one of the men on the NRL’s premiership trophy.

The powerful second row forward played for the Dragons from 1951 to 1965 and also for New South Wales and Australia during that time.

Provan was named at second row in both the Australian and New South Wales teams of the century and was a large part of the St. George Dragons 11 consecutive premiership run.

Though Provan has been overlooked for Immortality status so far, there are many in the rugby league community that believe it is time for him to be inducted into the famous group.

Comments are closed.