The Melbourne Storm could be set to lose another player one day after they agreed to a player swap with the Wests Tigers that saw them lose Justin Olam.

Love Rugby League has reported that Melbourne Storm forward Aaron Pene is being offered to several clubs overseas as the 2024 season approaches.

The publication understands that clubs in the Super League and RFL Championship are interested in his services and could end up with the London Broncos, Salford Red Devils, Warrington Wolves or big spenders Featherstone Rovers.

Off-contract at the end of this year, Pene has appeared in 32 NRL games to date, with eight of them occurring last season. In his second stint with the club after leaving for the New Zealand Warriors for one year in 2022, all of Pene's games came from the interchange bench.

At 28 years of age, he already had to contend with the likes of Nelson Asofa-Solomona and Christian Welch but will now have to fight for a position against recruit Shawn Blore and some talented younger players coming through the ranks.

If Pene departs the Storm, he will become the fifth player to leave from last season's roster, following in the footsteps of Tom Eisenhuth (St George Illawarra Dragons), Jayden Nikorima (Catalan Dragons), Justin Olam (Wests Tigers), and Tariq Sims (Catalan Dragons).

Embed from Getty Images

The following is correct as of January 13.

2024 Full squad

Nelson Asofa-SolomonaShawn BloreJoe ChanXavier CoatesBronson GarlickHarry GrantJack HowarthJahrome HughesDean IeremiaTui KamikamicaEliesa KatoaJosh KingChris LewisTrent LoieroAlec MacDonaldNick MeaneyTepai MoeroaCameron MunsterRyan PapenhuyzenAaron PeneJonah PezetMarion SeveReimis SmithYoung TonumaipeaWill WarbrickChristian WelchTyran Wishart

Best 17 and full squad
1. Ryan Papenhuyzen
2. Will Warbrick
3. Reimis Smith
4. Nick Meaney
5. Xavier Coates
6. Cameron Munster
7. Jahrome Hughes
8. Nelson Asofa-Solomona
9. Harry Grant
10. Christian Welch
11. Eliesa Katoa
12. Trent Loiero
13. Tui Kamikamica

14. Sua Fa'alogo
15. Josh King
16. Alec MacDonald
17. Shawn Blore

18. Tyran Wishart
19. Marion Seve
20. Joe Chan
21. Jack Howarth
22. Bronson Garlick
23. Jonah Pezet
24. Dean Ieremia
25. Chris Lewis
26. Young Tonumaipea
27. Tepai Moeroa
28. Aaron Pene
29. No player signed
30. No player signed

Roster spots open: 2

2024 Development List

1. Sua Fa'alogo
2. Kane Bradley
3. Ammaron Gudgeon
4. Lazarus Vaalepu
5. Tristan Powell