WORKINGTON, ENGLAND - OCTOBER 29: Danny Brough of Scotland celebrates at full time of the Rugby League World Cup Group C match between Tonga and Scotland at Derwent Park on October 29, 2013 in Workington, England. (Photo by Paul Thomas/Getty Images)

Scotland have named their 24-man squad for the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

Coach Steve McCormack has named Danny Brough as captain, with a very young squad named.

A host of experienced players have been ruled out due to injury including Leeds prop Keith Galloway, St George Illawarra centre Euan Aitken and Penrith hooker Peter Wallace and  North Queensland pair Lachlan Coote and Kane Linnett.

"It is a young squad but that's exciting, too," said McCormack.

"When we took our youngest ever team to play in France two years ago, I said some of them would be on the plane to Australia and a lot of them will be on Sunday."

Scotland World Cup Squad

Alex Walker (London Broncos)
Ben Hellewell (London Broncos)
Andrew Bentley (Toulouse)
Kane Bentley (Toulouse)
Danny Addy (Hull KR)
Ben Kavanagh (Hull KR)
Kieran Moran (Hull KR)
Will Oakes (Hull KR)
Brandan Wilkinson (Bradford Bulls)
Oscar Thomas (Bradford Bulls)
Callum Phillips (Workington)
Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants)
Dale Ferguson (Huddersfield Giants)
David Scott (Batley)
Frankie Mariano (Featherstone)
James Bell (New Zealand Warriors)
Jarred Anderson (Sydney Roosters)
Johnny Walker (Darlington Point Roosters)
Lachlan Stein (Penrith Panthers)
Lewis Tierney (Wigan Warriors)
Luke Douglas (St Helens)
Matthew Russell (Warrington Wolves)
Sam Brooks (Featherstone)
Shane Toal (Barrow)

Follow Zero Tackle on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for more of the latest rugby league news.