Papua New Guinea have named their 2017 Rugby League World Cup squad.

The side will be captain by Brisbane Broncos winger David Mead and features a number of current NRL players.

Cronulla Sharks hooker James Segeyaro, Canberra Raiders utility Kurt Baptiste and St George Illawarra Dragons winger Nene MacDonald have all been named, with former NRL player Paul Aiton also named.

The side also features ten players from the PNG Hunters side that recently won the Intrust Super Cup.

Papua New Guinea World Cup Squad

David Mead (Brisbane Broncos)
Ase Boas (SP PNG Hunters)
Enock Maki (SP PNG Hunters)
Gary Lo (Sheffield Eagles)
James Segeyaro (Cronulla Sharks)
Justin Olam (Melbourne Storms)
Kato Ottio (Canberra Raiders)
Kurt Baptiste (Canberra Raiders)
Lachlan Lam (Sydney Roosters)
Luke Page (Burleigh Bears)
Moses Meninga (SP PNG Hunters)
Nene MacDonald (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Nixon Put (SP PNG Hunters)
Paul Aiton (Catalans Dragons)
Rhys Martin (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
Rod Griffin (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
Stanton Albert (SP PNG Hunters)
Stargroth Amean (SP PNG Hunters)
Thompson Teteh (Redcliffe Dolphins)
Wartovo Puara Jnr (SP PNG Hunters)
Wellington Albert (SP PNG Hunters)
Watson Boas (SP PNG Hunters)
Willie Minoga (SP PNG Hunters)

*Alex Johnston withdrew from the side based on advice from his NRL club due to a hamstring injury