The Penrith Panthers have announced NYC co-captain Wayde Egan has signed a two-year contract extension with the club.

The new deal means the 20-year-old hooker will remain with the Panthers until at least the end of the 2019 season.

“I’m very excited and grateful to have taken another step towards my dream of playing NRL for the Panthers,” Egan said.

“It was an easy decision to re-sign with the club.

“We’ve got the best facilities in the NRL and fantastic coaching staff who have already given me so many great opportunities.”

Egan played his junior footy for the Lithgow Storm and first worked his way into the Panthers SG Ball squad in 2015.

He made his debut for the Panthers NYC side the following year and played a crucial role in the team’s charge to the Grand Final.

Taking on the NYC captaincy alongside Reed Izzard this season, Egan has again led the way for the young Panthers.

He has scored 16 tries and provided 14 try assists in his 18 appearances, including a record four-try haul against New Zealand Warriors in Round 21.

Egan also boasts a return of four tries and four try assists from five games played for the Panthers ISP side this season.

SEE ALSO:  Seibold about to earn his money via some HUGE calls

Penrith Panthers 2018 Player Movements

2018 Gains
Caleb Aekins (2020), Christian Crichton (2021), Adam Keighran (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, 2020), James Maloney (Cronulla Sharks, 2020), Liam Martin (2021), Chad O'Donnell (2018), Joey Peato (2018), Tyrone Phillips (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, 2019), Paea Pua (2019), Maika Sivo (2020), Jayden Walker (Cronulla Sharks, 2018)
2018 Losses
Sitaleki Akauola (Warrington Wolves), Bryce Cartwright (Gold Coast Titans), Zach Dockar-Clay (Hull Kingston Rovers), Peta Hiku (New Zealand Warriors), Samisoni Langi (Catalan Dragons), Leilani Latu (Gold Coast Titans), Te Maire Martin (North Queensland Cowboys), Matt Moylan (Cronulla Sharks), Darren Nicholls (St George Illawarra Dragons), Michael Oldfield (Canberra Raiders), Mitch Rein (Gold Coast Titans), Malakai Watene-Zelezniak (Wests Tigers)
Wayde Egan (2019), Corey Harawira-Naera (2022), Sione Katoa (2019), Viliame Kikau (2022), Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (2020), Dean Whare (2022)
Off Contract 2019
Dean Blore, Shawn Blore, Billy Burns, Jed Cartwright, Wayde Egan, Tim Grant, Sione Katoa, Spencer Leniu, Brayden McGrady, Sam McKendry, Brian Too, Malakai Watene-Zelezniak, Frank Winterstein