SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 04: Brent Naden of the Panthers holds aloft the winners trophy after the 2015 U20's Holden Cup Grand Final match between the Penrith Panthers and the Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles at ANZ Stadium on October 4, 2015 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Renee McKay/Getty Images)

The Newcastle Knights have re-signed five-eighth Jack Johns and welcome centre Brent Naden to the club on one-year contracts.

Johns played with the Club’s Under 20s in 2017 and shifted between playing in the halves and back row throughout the campaign.

He was rewarded with selection in Italy’s Rugby League World Cup squad, but his tournament was unfortunately cut short after he fractured his forearm in their opening match.

“Following on from an excellent season, Jack gets the chance to train full time and continue his development at the Club,” General Manager of Football Darren Mooney said.

“For Brent, he joins the Club for an opportunity and provides depth to our outside backs.”

Naden joins the Club from the Canberra Raiders, and while yet to make his NRL debut, he featured in Canberra’s 2017 Auckland Nines campaign.

The 21-year-old is a versatile outside back who can play centre, wing and fullback. In 2015, he was captain of Penrith’s Under 20s team.

Johns and Naden will train with the NRL squad this pre-season.

Knights 2021 Player Movements

2021 Gains
Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra Dragons, 2023), Blake Green (New Zealand Warriors, 2021), Bailey Hodgson (2023), Jack Johns (South Sydney Rabbitohs, 2021), Sauaso Sue (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, 2022), Dominic Young (2023)
2021 Losses
Herman Ese'ese (Gold Coast Titans), Tim Glasby (retired), Aidan Guerra (retired), Mason Lino (Wakefield Trinity), Sione Mata'utia (St Helens RLFC), Andrew McCullough (Brisbane Broncos)
Mitch Barnett (2023), Blake Green (2021), Josh King (2021), Jirah Momoisea (2022), Kalyn Ponga (2024), Daniel Saifiti (2022), Jacob Saifiti (2022), Pasami Saulo (2022), Starford To'a (2023), Enari Tuala (2021), Connor Watson (2021)
Off Contract 2021
Phoenix Crossland, Lachlan Fitzgibbon, Blake Green, Tex Hoy, Hymel Hunt, Jack Johns, Brodie Jones, Josh King, Edrick Lee, Kurt Mann, Mitchell Pearce, Enari Tuala, Connor Watson