HUDDERSFIELD, ENGLAND - NOVEMBER 02: Liam Finn (C) of Ireland looks dejected as his side concede another try in the 0-42 defeat during the Rugby League World Cup Group A match between England and Ireland at the John Smith's Stadium on November 2, 2013 in Huddersfield, England. (Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images)

Ireland have announced their 24-man squad for the upcoming 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

Mark Aston has kept the core squad together that have been a part of the last few European Championships and the players that qualified for the tournament last Autumn.

The evergreen Liam Finn and Scott Grix lead the side out as captain and vice-captain and they have over 20 years experience now playing for Ireland.

The domestic competition has got a greater involvement this time round and Matty Hadden features again after being involved in 2013 and is selected alongside James Kelly, Casey Dunne and Alan McMahon who have been central to the growth of the game in Ireland.

Mikey Russell is also involved in the party and will travel as a reserve.

Ireland World Cup squad

Liam Finn (c)
Scott Grix (vc)
James Hasson
Kyle Amor
Liam Kay
Will Hope
Oliver Roberts
Ed Chamberlain
George King
Toby King
Joe Keyes
Joe Philbin
Jack Higginson
Anthony Mullally
Tyrone McCarthy
Brad Singleton
Micky McIlorum
Louie McCarthy Scarsbrook
Api Pewhairangi
Matty Hadden
Shannon McDonnell
Casey Dunne
James Kelly
Alan McMahon
Mikey Russell (Travelling Reserve)