AUCKLAND, NEW ZEALAND - OCTOBER 20: James Tedesco of Australia in action during the International Test match between Tonga and Australia at Mount Smart Stadium on October 20, 2018 in Auckland, New Zealand. (Photo by Anthony Au-Yeung/Getty Images)

A four-man shortlist has been named for the 2018 Rugby League International Federation (RILF) Golden Boot award.

New Zealand’s Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Australia’s James Tedesco and England pair Elliott Whitehead and Tommy Makinson are all in the running for the award which will be announced at the Hall of Fame & RILF Golden Boot Dinner on November 7.

The Golden Boot award is given to the player who has the most outstanding performances in international matches between last year’s World Cup Final and the recent second Test between England and New Zealand.

A five-person panel will determine the winner of the award, in a year in which the first ever Women’s Golden Boot will be announced.

Australians Ali Brigginshaw, Brittany Breayley and Isabelle Kelly, New Zealand’s Honey Hireme and England’s Georgia Roche are all on the shortlist for that award.


  1. Taumalolo is better than both English players, Makinson is only there for Super League representation but even then Tomkins is a better candidate. The system needs a major rework.

  2. Tedesco is this years Golden Boot. Winning SOO, Grand Final and a Test match while playing the best season of his life under Trent Robinson at the Roosters. Robo has fine tuned his skills and Tedesco from the oyher four remaining candidates deserves this prestigious award.😎👍

Comments are closed.