St George Illawarra have announced that young Dragons utility Tristan Sailor has re-signed with the club for a further two seasons.

Sailor will join the Dragons’ full-time squad in 2018 and will remain there until at least the completion of the 2019 NRL Telstra Premiership season.

The 19-year-old represented the Queensland Under-20s side earlier this season and has played a crucial role in the young Dragons’ rise to the top four on the Holden Cup ladder.

“Tristan has been quite exceptional this year. He played in Queensland’s Under-20s side and as of next year will become a full-time Dragon,” Director of Rugby League Pathways Ian Millward said.

“Tristan plays numerous positions – he’s a very talented fullback and five-eighth – and he has really good vision, instinct and skills. We’re really excited by his retention because we feel there’s so much upside in him physically.”

Millward has also ensured members and fans that the Dragons remain salary cap compliant for next season.

SEE ALSO:  Updated Team Lists: Sharks vs Raiders

The ongoing negotiations between the NRL, the 16 clubs and the Rugby League Players Association haven’t impacted the recruitment staff’s patient approach in the marketplace.

“We’re under specific instructions from the NRL about the salary cap and we’re complying with that. We’re in a really good position,” Millward said.

“We have spots to fill which is why we’re actively looking for a front-rower. We’re being patient for the right players.

“The bottom line is we’re sticking to the figure we’ve been given, we’re complying with that and working our business around it.”

Sailor joins the likes of skipper Gareth Widdop, Tyson Frizell, Euan Aitken, Jack de Belin, Paul Vaughan, Tim Lafai, Kurt Mann, Jai Field, Jacob Host, Blake Lawrie, Luciano Leilua and Reece Robson to extend their stay at the Dragons this season.

St George Illawarra Dragons 2018 Player Movements

2018 Gains
Mitchell Allgood (Wakefield Trinity, 2018), Jackson Ford (2020), James Graham (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, 2020), Ben Hunt (Brisbane Broncos, 2023), Jeremy Latimore (Cronulla Sharks, 2018), Joe Lovodua (2019), Darren Nicholls (Penrith Panthers, 2019)
2018 Losses
Josh Dugan (Cronulla Sharks), Siliva Havili (Canberra Raiders), Drew Hutchison (Leigh Centurions), Chris Lewis (released), Mose Masoe (Hull Kingston Rovers), Will Matthews (Gold Coast Titans), Tyrone McCarthy (Salford Red Devils), Josh McCrone (Toronto Wolfpack), Taane Milne (Wests Tigers), Shaun Nona (Brisbane Broncos), Russell Packer (Wests Tigers), Joel Thompson (Manly Sea Eagles)
Euan Aitken (2020), Jack de Belin (2020), Jacob Host (2020), Tim Lafai (2020), Blake Lawrie (2019), Kurt Mann (2019), Jason Nightingale (2018), Tristan Sailor (2019), Paul Vaughan (2021), Gareth Widdop (2021)
Off Contract 2018
Mitchell Allgood, Reuben Garrick, Patrick Herbert, Jeremy Latimore, Jason Nightingale, Jordan Pereira, Hame Sele
SEE ALSO:  NRL Hall of Fame to induct six league legends


  1. We are looking good from a salary cap position. We have six spots left and money to spend. Would be looking at Brett Morris and James Graham, might be able to get them very cheap with the Dogs paying for a percentage. I am also hearing that the Panthers might be shopping Latu around.

    • No thanks to Brett Morris. Too old & slow now.

      He brushed us for the big “fullback” dollars at the Bulldogs……don’t want or need him back

  2. Graham would be a great signing but why would we want Morris, we’re well covered in his position and he has shown he doesn’t want to be at the dragons in the past. Morris is not the future for our club. If we’re going to sign anyone it should be looking to the future not at some older player who’s on the downward end of his career with numerous injuries and slowing down

  3. Because he would close some defensive lapses on the wing and you would get him cheap. Gypsy will not play on in 2019, so a 2 year contract for morris would be ideal.

    • Good coaching could also close defensive lapses on the wings. I don’t really want Brett back after he did the dirty on us, I’d rather blood our young guns or we should have gone harder for Alex Johnson. Not a fan of Graham, but maybe in a new club away from that culture he’d not be such a grub and hothead. Rather him than Adam Blair that’s for sure.

Comments are closed.