SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 01: Darren Nicholls of the Panthers scores a try during the 2017 State Championship Final between the Penrith Panthers and Papua New Guinea Hunters at ANZ Stadium on October 1, 2017 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)

The St George Illawarra Dragons have finalised their Top 30 squad for the 2018 Telstra Premiership season following the signings of Darren Nicholls and Mitchell Allgood.

Halfback Nicholls joins the Red V from the Penrith Panthers on a two-year contract, which will tie him to the club until at least the end of the 2019 season.

The 28-year-old – who has previously featured at the Wests Tigers, Rabbitohs and Broncos – skippered the Panthers' Intrust Super Premiership side in 2017 to an NRL State Championship victory over the PNG Hunters.

Director of Rugby League Pathways Ian Millward anticipated that Nicholls's experience and ambitions will hold him in good stead at the Dragons.

"We head-hunted Darren to come on board for the reason that he is a very experienced halfback. He's been at a couple of NRL clubs now and he's probably been the best player in the Intrust Super Premiership and Cup over the last couple of years," Millward said.

"We looked at him for a number of reasons. One because we are anticipating Ben Hunt may play State of Origin in 2018 and we also wanted to make sure we had a person who'd be good for our younger guys like Jai Field, Tristan Sailor and Jackson Willis.

"Darren has a real aspiration to play in the NRL and we believe he is the sort of person that can step up and play first grade on a regular basis."

Allgood will join the Dragons on a one-year deal following a three-year stint in the English Super League at Hull KR (2015-16) and Wakefield Trinity Wildcats (2017).

A veteran of 70 NRL games during his time with the Parramatta Eels (2011-14), Allgood also represented the City Origin team in 2012.

"Mitchell is someone who will come in with NRL experience and someone who wants to prove himself. On a one-year contract, Mitchell has to come out of the blocks and show us that he deserves to be in the NRL with the Dragons," Millward said.

"There was plenty of thought put into Mitchell in terms of his age, experience and his position. On top of James Graham and Jeremy Latimore as well as Mitchell, they all have experience which will help the young front-rowers coming through the ranks."

Nicholls and Allgood's signings completes the Dragons' Top 30 squad ahead of the 2018 season.

Dragons 2024 Player Movements

2024 Gains
Corey Allan (Sydney Roosters, 2025), Tom Eisenhuth (Melbourne Storm, 2024), Raymond Faitala-Mariner (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, 2025), Kyle Flanagan (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, 2025), Luciano Leilua (North Queensland Cowboys, 2026), Jesse Marschke (2024), Hame Sele (South Sydney Rabbitohs, 2026), Cyrus Stanley-Traill (2027), Christian Tuipulotu (Manly Sea Eagles, 2025)
2024 Losses
Billy Burns (Cronulla Sharks), Jaiyden Hunt (Brisbane Broncos), Josh Kerr (The Dolphins), Alex Lobb (Wests Tigers), Moses Mbye (St Helens Saints), Tautau Moga (retired), Zane Musgrove (Warrington Wolves), Jayden Sullivan (Wests Tigers), Aaron Woods (Manly Sea Eagles)
Jack de Belin (2024), Sione Finau (2025), Blake Lawrie (2026), Jacob Liddle (2026), Michael Molo (2024), Mikaele Ravalawa (2026)
Off Contract 2024
Josh Coric, Jack de Belin, Tom Eisenhuth, Mathew Feagai, Max Feagai, Jesse Marschke, Francis Molo, Michael Molo, Connor Muhleisen, Ben Murdoch-Masila, Jackson Shereb, Tyrell Sloan, Jaydn Su'A, Savelio Tamale, Alec Tuitavake, Paul Turner

Comments are closed.