SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - JULY 07: Aaron Gray of the Rabbitohs looks on during the round 18 NRL match between the Sydney Roosters and the South Sydney Rabbitohs at Allianz Stadium on July 7, 2017 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

The Cronulla Sharks have confirmed the signing of South Sydney outside back Aaron Gray on a two-year contract.

Gray, who has played 39 games for Souths, scoring 16 tries since debuting in the NRL back in 2015, is set to add quality and the depth to the Sharks back line in 2018.

A Mascot Jets junior, the 23-year-old Gray was a City Origin representative in 2016, making an enormous impression in that match in crossing for four tries in City’s victory over Country.

“I want to give a massive thanks to Souths for giving me a start and for what they’ve done for me and we certainly want to finish this season strongly, but I’m also really excited and very much looking forward to the new opportunity at the Sharks next year,” Gray said.

Sharks Coach Shane Flanagan was pleased to have secured the services of Gray for at least the 2018 and 2019 seasons and had no doubt he would be an asset to his squad.

“Aaron has had a few injuries, which means he’s had a few false starts in his career, but I’m looking forward to having him on board next year,” Flanagan said. “He can play wing or centre, is a powerful runner, very skilful and is experienced for a young bloke.”

SEE ALSO:  FULL TIME: Eels vs Panthers - Round 11, 2019

Gray has been named on the wing for Souths for their match against the Cowboys in Cairns on Sunday.

He will join the Sharks for pre-season training prior to the start of 2018.

Cronulla Sharks 2018 Player Movements

2018 Gains
Josh Dugan (St George Illawarra Dragons, 2021), Jackson Ferris (2020), Aaron Gray (South Sydney Rabbitohs, 2019), Braden Hamlin-Uele (North Queensland Cowboys, 2019), Trent Hodkinson (Newcastle Knights, 2019), Sione Katoa (2020), Matt Moylan (Penrith Panthers, 2021), James Roumanos (2021), Ava Seumanufagai (Wests Tigers, 2021), Scott Sorensen (Canberra Raiders, 2019), Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers, 2021), Bronson Xerri (2021)
2018 Losses
Gerard Beale (New Zealand Warriors), Jack Bird (Brisbane Broncos), Fa'amanu Brown (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Manaia Cherrington (New Zealand Warriors), Adam Clydsdale (retired), Jordan Drew (released), Chris Heighington (Newcastle Knights), Jeremy Latimore (St George Illawarra Dragons), James Maloney (Penrith Panthers), Daniel Mortimer (Leigh Centurions), Sam Tagataese (Brisbane Broncos), Jayden Walker (Penrith Panthers), Tony Williams (Parramatta Eels)
Kurt Capewell (2019), Kurt Dillon (2020), Sosaia Feki (2019), Andrew Fifita (2022), Paul Gallen (2019), Wade Graham (2022), Valentine Holmes (2018), Luke Lewis (2018), Billy Magoulias (2019), Joseph Paulo (2021), Matt Prior (2020), Chad Townsend (2020)
Off Contract 2019
Kurt Capewell, Sosaia Feki, Aaron Gray, Braden Hamlin-Uele, William Kennedy, Isaac Lumelume, Billy Magoulias, Ronaldo Mulitalo, Scott Sorensen
SEE ALSO:  Dallin Watene-Zelezniak dropped by Penrith, future clouded


  1. Man that’s terrible, another junior gone and from my old club Mascot, this will turn into another Walker cause i rate him as equal to him, why are we not keeping our juniors, we would have one of the best backlines in the NRL if we could have kept them, Roberts, Walker, Gray, Johnston, Reynolds, Addo-Carr that will do for starters, it is becoming very frustrating , i hope Souths have a good plan like more good juniors on the way up that they see a future in.

    • I guess in Madge they trust>? Saints haven’t been much better…
      Some of the issues are the need for immediate results – i thought Grey might have come Saints way as we are loosing depth fast.

  2. Aaron Gray has shown potential but every time he starts to look good he just breaks down all the time.
    He is far worse than a Ford Falcon at Bathurst, LMFAO.
    4 Knee operations since 2013.

    Gray is just not worth the risk in keeping him.
    The Sharks offered him double of what Souths were prepared to pay him.
    It is a pity but that happens from time to time.

    The Rabbitohs will need that extra cash when the scum starts to knock down Angus Crichton’s door.
    Believe me, Gus will cost us $600k or more to keep him.

    Souths have plans and are chasing 2 International Outside backs at the moment, we may not get them but Richo with Crowe is working on it behind the scenes.

    Addo Carr is NOT a Souths Junior, he was born in Blacktown and played his Junior footy at Doonside JRLC
    He moved to Earlwood and played for the Saints.

    He played with La Perouse and also Moore Park.
    Sure he played in the Souths Juniors at one stage and even played Ball but he played U20s for the Sharks.

  3. Souths will look to have a go for Koribete, Johnny Tuivasa-Sheck, Fergo, Naiqama, Roberts. If they happen to get one of those players they’ll have one of the most dangerous spines in the comp.

    • You’re joking right??

      Naiqama is a reserve grader masquerading as a first grade player at the Tigers.

      The potentially ‘most damaging spines in the comp’ couldn’t beat a depleted Roosters last week.

      Without Sam Burgess Souths would be battling for the spoon

Comments are closed.