Sixteen NRL clubs are gearing up for Round 1, with several players making their club debuts and transitioning from positions they previously played.

From Luke Brooks at the Manly Sea Eagles, to Spencer Leniu to the Sydney Roosters to Morgan Smithies at the Canberra Raiders, this round will mark the first time fans get to see them wear their clubs jersey.

Unfortunately, it isn't all good news with a plethora of elite players ruled out of round one including Dominic Young, Jack Wighton, David Fifita and Maika Sivo.

Teams will be named at 4pm (AEST), but here is all the latest in news and rumours.


Sydney Roosters vs Brisbane Broncos

SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 04: Corey Jensen of the Broncos looks on during the round 21 NRL match between the Sydney Roosters and the Brisbane Broncos at the Sydney Cricket Ground on August 04, 2022, in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

Sydney Roosters

Spencer Leniu is set to make his much-anticipated debut in Roosters colours, but the lethal combination with Jared Waerea-Hargreaves will have to wait with the Kiwi international suspended for the game.

Sandon Smith and Connor Watson will be contending for the bench utility position. In other team news, recruit Dominic Young will miss the game with their backline consisting of Daniel Tupou, Billy Smith, Joseph Manu and Joseph Suaalii.

“I think he tore three ligaments in his neck... very unfortunate for him, I think he's out and Suaalii's in. Billy Smith, Joey Manu, Tupou and then Suaalii,” Brandon Smith said on The Bye Round podcast.

Projected Round 1 Team: 1. James Tedesco 2. Joseph Suaalii 3. Joseph Manu 4. Billy Smith 5. Daniel Tupou 6. Luke Keary 7. Sam Walker 8. Terrell May 9. Brandon Smith 10. Lindsay Collins 11. Nat Butcher 12. Siua Wong 13. Victor Radley 14. Sandon Smith 15. Angus Crichton 16. Egan Butcher 17. Spencer Leniu

Brisbane Broncos

The Courier Mail has reported that Corey Jensen has locked down the starting prop position, taking over from Thomas Flegler. As Jensen moved from the bench, Martin Taupau and Xavier Willison were contending for his bench spot, with the position reportedly going to the veteran Taupau.

Selwyn Cobbo has transitioned from the wing to the centres this season creating a lethal combination with Kotoni Staggs - Jesse Arthars and Corey Oates will take their respective spots on the wing.

After sustaining a minor injury in the NRL Pre-Season Challenge, Brendan Piakura has declared himself a certain starter to Kevin Walters after multiple impressive training sessions overseas in Las Vegas.

Projected Round 1 Team: 1. Reece Walsh 2. Jesse Arthars 3. Kotoni Staggs 4. Selwyn Cobbo 5. Corey Oates 6. Ezra Mam 7. Adam Reynolds 8. Corey Jensen 9. Billy Walters 10. Payne Haas 11. Brendan Piakura 12. Jordan Riki 13. Patrick Carrigan 14. Tyson Smoothy 15. Martin Taupau 16. Fletcher Baker 17. Kobe Hetherington