BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA - JULY 12: Queensland players embrace before game three of the State Of Origin series between the Queensland Maroons and the New South Wales Blues at Suncorp Stadium on July 12, 2017 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Bradley Kanaris/Getty Images)

Fox Sports commentator Ben Ikin has picked his 17-man Maroons squad to take on the Blues in State of Origin I, axing Broncos fullback Darius Boyd and Cowboys young gun Coen Hess.

Head coach Kevin Walters and the Queensland selectors will down to finalise their line-up after round 12.

As revealed on, Ikin has already put a line through Boyd in favour of Valentine Holmes on the wing because of his goalkicking ability. Hess was also left out, giving Jai Arrow an opportunity on the bench instead.

Greg Inglis has been named skipper of the side in what would be his 12th appearance for Queensland.

Ben Ikin’s Maroons

  1. Billy Slater
  2. Valentine Holmes
  3. Greg Inglis (c)
  4. Will Chambers
  5. Dane Gagai
  6. Cameron Munster
  7. Ben Hunt
  8. Dylan Napa
  9. Andrew McCullough
  10. Matthew Scott
  11. Gavin Cooper
  12. Felise Kaufusi
  13. Jarrod Wallace
  14. Michael Morgan
  15. Jai Arrow
  16. Tim Glasby
  17. Josh Papalii

Comments are closed.