NSW Blues front-rower David Klemmer has tonight been crowned the 2017 Brad Fittler Medal winner following an impressive State of Origin campaign in which he ran for more metres than any forward from NSW and Queensland across the three-game series.

Klemmer amassed 519 metres after starting all three games off the interchange bench, with Maroons’ Dane Gagai (577) and Blues teammate James Tedesco (541) the only players who tallied more metres.

On a night that recognised the achievements of players across all NSWRL teams and competitions, from Origin to seniors, juniors, women and Indigenous, as well as the contributions of referees and club officials, Klemmer accepted the state’s top award in front of more than 600 guests at The Star Event Centre.

The 22-year-old polled the highest votes from fellow Blues teammates, as well as Laurie Daley and his coaching staff. Previous winners include Josh Jackson (2016) Josh Dugan (2015), Jarryd Hayne (2014), Paul Gallen (2011) and Danny Buderus (2008).

U16 NSW State Player of the Year
Joshua Schuster (Manly Sea Eagles)

U18 NSW State Player of the Year
Zac Lomax (St George Illawarra Dragons)

U20 NSW State Player of the Year
Curtis Scott (Melbourne Storm)

Junior Representative Referee of the Year
Daniel Luttringer

Grade Referee of the Year
Darian Furner

Ray Stellar Award (Club Person of the Year Award)
Eric Galloway (Belrose Eagles)

KARI Indigenous Achievement Award
Ulysses Roberts (Macksville)

Harvey Norman Women’s Premiership Player of the Year
Caitlin Moran (North Newcastle)

Harvey Norman NSW Women’s State Player of the Year
Simaima Taufa (Mounties)

Sydney Shield Player of the Year
Christian Bate (Belrose Eagles)

Ron Massey Cup Player of the Year
Heath L’Estrange (Hills District Bulls)

Intrust Super Premiership NSW Player of the Year
Cameron Cullen (Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles)

The Daily Telegraph People’s Choice Award
Jake Trbojevic (Manly Sea Eagles)

True Blue Award
Jake Trbojevic (Manly Sea Eagles)

Brad Fittler Medal
David Klemmer (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

Comments are closed.