In 2018, Freddy’s baby blues brought the shield back to NSW for the first time since 2014.

Losing the third game last year no doubt still gives Freddy the occasional nightmare. Kevin Walters is super confident his team will secure a win at Suncorp Stadium this Wednesday night.

James Tedesco 1 Kalyn Ponga
Josh Addo-Carr 2 Corey Oates
Latrell Mitchell 3 Will Chambers
Josh Morris 4 Michael Morgan
Nic Cotric 5 Dane Gagai
Cody Walker 6 Cameron Munster
Nathan Cleary 7 Daley Cherry-Evans (c)
David Klemmer 8 Jai Arrow
Damien Cook 9 Ben Hunt
Paul Vaughan 10 Josh Papalii
Boyd Cordner (c) 11 Felise Kaufusi
Tyson Frizell 12 Matt Gillett
Jake Trbojevic 13 Josh McGuire
Jack Wighton 14 Moses Mbye
Payne Haas 15 Joe Ofahengaue
Cameron Murray 16 Dylan Napa
Angus Crichton 17 David Fifita
Ryan Matterson 18 Tim Glasby
Victor Radley 19 Anthony Milford
TBC 20 Kurt Capewell
TBC 21 Cameron Smith


Blues: Last year, Freddy named 11 debutants including James Roberts, Tom Trbojevic, Tyrone Peachy, Reagan Campbell-Gillard and Jack De Bellin. These fellows and James Maloney missed out this year for the series opener.

As expected, Roosters fullback James Tedesco will play in the number 1 jersey. Josh Addo-Carr, Latrell Mitchell, Boyd Cordner and Cody Walker make up the left edge.

Cody manages to grab the six jersey from Luke Keary through injury. Nic Cotric, Josh Morris, Tyson Frizell and Nathan Cleary will make up the right edge.

Freddy has confidence in Cotric and picked him over Blake Ferguson. Josh Morris is the best defensive centre in the game and the perfect candidate to conquer Cameron Munster and Kalyn Ponga up front.

Nathan Cleary was able to hold off Luke Keary and Adam Reynolds because of injuries again. Sitting in the middle is David Klemmer, Paul Vaughan and Jake Trbojevic. Jordan McLean was in the mix but was excluded.

Jack Wighton edges out Clint Gutherson for that bench utility spot. Hard running 19-year-old Payne Haas will make his debut alongside Cameron Murray. Brad Fittler chose to stick with Angus Crichton ahead of Ryan Matterson who with Victor Radley makes up the extended bench.

Maroons: As expected Queensland pick and stick with only three debutants including the likes of Moses Mbye, Joe Ofahengaue and David Fifita which are all running off the bench.

As expected the right edge is Corey Oates, Will Chambers and Felise Kaufusi. The left edge includes Dane Gagai who is the likely goal kicker, Michael Morgan at centre and Matt Gillett in the back row.

Kalyn Ponga will be directing his troops at the back. Newly named captain Daly Cherry-Evans will partner Cameron Munster in the halves. Josh Papalli, Ben Hunt and Jai Arrow will be up front with Josh McGuire closely following.

Mbye will make his debut alongside Ofahengaue and Fifita. Experienced forward Dylan Napa will also run off the bench.

Key Match-Up: High profile rugby league personalities are saying this will be the best Origin series yet, with a number of great matchups across the park such as Will Chambers vs Latrell Mitchell and Cameron Munster vs Cody Walker.

The battle of the number 1s will be electrifying with Kalyn Ponga vs James Tedesco.

Kangaroos coach, Mal Meninga will have a huge headache on who to pick for the Kangaroos jersey. Interestingly, Ponga came through the rugby union system but debuted for the Cowboys.

Tedesco is the incumbent Australian fullback but Ponga would like to challenge that for sure. Meninga said that Tedesco is currently winning the race for his number 1 jersey.

The only edge Ponga has over Teddy is his kicking game since Teddy doesn’t fill that position at the Roosters or for the Kangaroos. I predict Tedesco will shine brighter across this Origin series.

Prediction: Both coaches will have their team ready to hit Suncorp Stadium fired up and ready to perform for their teammates and their fans. I feel the speed of Damien Cook and James Tedesco around the ruck will challenge the Queensland forwards…….. NSW by 2