SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 22: Corey Norman of the Eels offloads the ball during the round eight NRL match between the Parramatta Eels and the Penrith Panthers at ANZ Stadium on April 22, 2017 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Matt Blyth/Getty Images)

The Zero Tackle "Team of the Week" is based predominantly on a statistical performance. This understandably has pros and cons but allows us to remove any bias or preconceptions about a player or their opponents.

Players are compared to others in their starting position across a variety of stats, with a small bonus added if their team wins that round. The player with the highest "value" is then selected in each position. Players cannot be selected out of position.

As such, the interchange players are chosen from players who start the match from the bench and are there to give an indication of the players who performed best in that role.

Team of the Week: Round 8

  1. Kalyn Ponga (Cowboys)
  2. David Nofoaluma (Wests Tigers)
  3. Will Chambers (Storm)
  4. Kane Linnett (Cowboys)
  5. Corey Oates (Broncos)
  6. Cameron Munster (Storm)
  7. Corey Norman (Eels)
  8. Martin Taupau (Sea Eagles)
  9. Kaysa Pritchard (Eels)
  10. Jarrod Wallace (Titans)
  11. Felise Kaufusi (Storm)
  12. Josh Papalii (Raiders)
  13. Jake Trbojevic (Sea Eagles)
  14. Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Storm)
  15. Leivaha Pulu (Titans)
  16. Ethan Lowe (Cowboys)
  17. Korbin Sims (Broncos)

Honourable Mentions: James Tedesco (Wests Tigers), Josh Addo-Carr (Storm), David Fusitu'a (Warriors), John Sutton (Rabbitohs), Mitchell Pearce (Roosters), Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers), Cameron Smith (Storm), Gavin Cooper (Cowboys), Jason Taumalolo (Cowboys)

Comments are closed.