With over 100 players completing NRL.com’s Players’ Poll for 2018 prior to the Origin period, the following lists are representative of the thoughts of those who know the game the best.

Melbourne Storm skipper Cameron Smith has been voted the best player in the NRL at the ripe old age of 35, as he continues to dominate despite entering the twilight years of his career.

Best player:

Cameron Smith 45%
Jonathan Thurston 12%
Jason Taumalolo 6%
Billy Slater 6%
James Maloney 5%


The Fox has been voted the best winger in the competition, as the speedster had an impressive Origin campaign to go along with a deadly 2018 season so far.

Best winger:

Josh Addo-Carr 27%
David Fusitu'a 21%
Jordan Rapana 12%
Valentine Holmes 10%
Corey Oates/Blake Ferguson 8%


Another Melbourne man takes out another positional award, with Will Chambers voted the best centre in the league. Chambers beat out Origin teammate Greg Inglis and star young gun Latrell Mitchell, although Mitchell may have received more votes has the poll taken place post-Origin.

Best centre:

Will Chambers 31%
Greg Inglis 21%
Euan Aitken 13%
Latrell Mitchell 11%
Josh Dugan 4%


Jason Taumalolo has received the mantle of the game's best middle forward, ahead of Sam Burgess and Sea Eagles enforcer Jake Trbojevic. Taumalolo is once again one of the best metre-eaters in the league, leading the forwards in metres gained.

Best middle forward:

Jason Taumalolo 34%
Sam Burgess 23%
Jake Trbojevic 10%
Reagan Campbell-Gillard 5%
Jesse Bromwich/Andrew Fifita 4%


Tyson Frizell rounds out the positional awards as the game's best edge forward, narrowly beating out injured Broncos star Matt Gillett.

Best edge forward:

Tyson Frizell 22%
Matt Gillett 21%
Boyd Cordner 15%
Tohu Harris 13%
Wade Graham 9%


Finally, will all of the players' votes collated, NRL.com were able to put together the league's best team.

2018 NRL.com players' poll team

1 Billy Slater
2 Josh Addo-Carr
3 Will Chambers
4 Greg Inglis
5 David Fusitu'a
6 James Maloney
7 Johnathan Thurston
8 Sam Burgess
9 Cameron Smith
10 Jake Trbojevic
11 Tyson Frizell
12 Matt Gillett
13 Jason Taumalolo
Coach Craig Bellamy

Comments are closed.