during the round 14 NRL match between the Manly Sea Eagles and the Newcastle Knights at Lottoland on June 9, 2017 in Sydney, Australia.

The Newcastle Knights have announce the re-signing of local junior Luke Yates for the 2018 season.

Yates made his NRL debut in Round 1 this season and went on to play 19 matches, before injury ended his season in Round 24.

“Luke is a great young talent and thoroughly deserves this contract extension,” General Manager Football Darren Mooney said.

“Luke has progressed through the grades at the Club and made a successful transition to the NRL this season.

“He is a popular teammate and consistent contributor and we look forward to seeing his continued development at the Knights.”

The 22-year-old is a West Newcastle junior.

In other news, Knights outside back Tom Hughes has signed a one-year contract extension with the Club.

Hughes joined the Knights in 2016, after spending four seasons with the South Sydney Rabbitohs.

This season, the South Coast junior was the leading try scorer in the Intrust Super Premiership (ISP) competition and was named ISP’s Players’ Player.

“Tom has been one of our most consistent performers this season and thoroughly deserves a contract extension,” ISP coach Simon Woolford said.

22-year-old Hughes will have the opportunity to train with the NRL squad during the pre-season.

Meanwhile, the Club has taken up 2018 contract options for Sam Stone, Dylan Phythian and Nick Meaney, and also re-signed promising young hooker Tom Starling for 2018.

Knights 2024 Player Movements

2024 Gains
Jed Cartwright (South Sydney Rabbitohs, 2025), Jack Cogger (Penrith Panthers, 2026), Tom Jenkins (Penrith Panthers, 2025), Kai Pearce-Paul (Wigan Warriors, 2025), Will Pryce (Huddersfield Giants, 2025)
2024 Losses
Fa'amanu Brown (Hull FC), Adam Clune (Huddersfield Giants), Lachlan Fitzgibbon (Warrington Wolves), Bailey Hodgson (Manly Sea Eagles), Oryn Keeley (The Dolphins), Kurt Mann (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Lachlan Miller (Leeds Rhinos), Ryan Rivett (Toulouse Olympique), Simi Sasagi (Canberra Raiders), Dominic Young (Sydney Roosters)
Phoenix Crossland (2026), Tyson Frizell (2026), Dylan Lucas (2025), Greg Marzhew (2026), Enari Tuala (2024)
Off Contract 2024
David Armstrong, Thomas Cant, Mat Croker, Dane Gagai, Tyson Gamble, Zach Herring, Brodie Jones, Krystian Mapapalangi, Myles Martin, Enari Tuala, Toni Tupouniua