Bulldogs confirm a number of player departures

The Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs paid tribute to five departing players after the win over the Manly Sea Eagles at ANZ Stadium.

At the conclusion of yesterday’s match, the departing players and their partners were welcomed onto the stage to accept a gift of appreciation from the club and to allow the fans to say farewell at the Bulldogs final home match this season.

It was already well-known that Josh Reynolds (Wests Tigers) and Sam Kasiano (Melbourne Storm) were leaving the club at the end of the season.

The club also confirmed though that off contract players Michael Lichaa, Tyrone Phillips and Craig Garvey would not be re-signed by the club.

After the players had been on stage, CEO Raelene Castle was also presented with a gift to mark her time at the club.

There might be more players yet to depart though, with the club under scrutiny¬†surrounding its salary cap for the 2018 season. The NRL has threatened to not register the contracts of big money recruits Keiran Foran and Aaron Woods and it’s likely the club will need to move on a few more players to make room for them.

SEE ALSO:  Adelaide to host Holden State Of Origin in 2020

The NRL has threatened to not register the contracts of big money recruits Keiran Foran and Aaron Woods and it’s likely the club will need to move on a few more players to make room for them.

Club captain James Graham could be one such player, with the Newcastle Knights and St George Illawarra Dragons both reportedly keen to sign him if he’s available.

Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs 2018 Player Movements

2018 Gains: Jarred Anderson (2020), Fa'amanu Brown (Cronulla Sharks, 2019), Mason Cerruto (2018), Kieran Foran (New Zealand Warriors, 2020), Jeremy Marshall-King (Wests Tigers, 2018), Ofahiki Ogden (New Zealand Warriors, 2019), John Olive (Gold Coast Titans, 2019), Clay Priest (Canberra Raiders, 2018), Moses Suli (Wests Tigers, 2019), Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers, 2021)
2018 Losses: Brad Abbey (Canberra Raiders), Craig Garvey (Canberra Raiders), James Graham (St George Illawarra Dragons), Sam Kasiano (Melbourne Storm), Adam Keighran (Penrith Panthers), Richard Kennar (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Brenko Lee (Gold Coast Titans), Tyrone Phillips (Penrith Panthers), Josh Reynolds (Wests Tigers)
Re-Signed: Adam Elliott (2020), Danny Fualalo (2019), Kerrod Holland (2020), Will Hopoate (2020), Michael Lichaa (2019), Marcelo Montoya (2020), Reimis Smith (2019), Renouf To'omaga (2020), Aiden Tolman (2020)
Off Contract 2018: Tom Carr, Mason Cerruto, Josh Cleeland, Greg Eastwood, Asipeli Fine, Matt Frawley, Lachlan Lewis, Jeremy Marshall-King, Rhyse Martin, Brett Morris, Josh Morris, Clay Priest, Zac Woolford
SEE ALSO:  Manly name team to play Sharks


  1. If I was a Dogs supporter I would be hoping that they can back out of the Foran deal. Has been a great player in the past but injury has caught up with him very quickly and now he is a liability on the field. I feel bad watching him play now as you expect so much more from a champion

    • Give him an off season to get fit and healthy and he will be back to his best. He has been playing injured pretty much all yeah probably because he feels he owes it to the Warriors

  2. Dropping Lichaa and Garvey, hmmmm?

    Obviously Mybe to hooker, and I have no idea what they have behind that, but I was surprised, with Garvey anyway. I thought he looked promising, and would be cheap. I wouldn’t be surprised if he’s a loss the Doggies go on to regret.

    As for Foran, and I hope he gets back to his true form, but he’d have to be considered a pretty high risk. IF, and I doubt they will, and don’t believe they should, but IF Dessie is shown the door, then Foran could become a very high risk.

  3. As a dogs fan I pray des is shown the door the game against manly players threw his game plan out the window & boom looked like an actual footy team not a bunch of robots eg lichaa suddenly had a running game he’s leaving dean pay has to be given the job or dogs will fail to make the 8 for the next few years

Comments are closed.