MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - OCTOBER 27: Cameron Smith of Australia prepares to kick during the 2017 Rugby League World Cup match between the Australian Kangaroos and England at AAMI Park on October 27, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

Cameron Smith has confirmed his status as one of the greatest players of all time after winning his second Golden Boot award.

Smith edged out Jason Taumalolo to claim the award, with England winger Jermaine McGilvary finishing third.

Fijian international and Melbourne Storm teammate Suliasi Vunivalu also made the four-man shortlist.

Smith is the fourth player to win the award more than once, joining the likes of Johnathan Thurston, Darren Lockyer and Andrew Johns.

Golden Boot Award Winners

Year Player Club(s) Position
1984 Wally Lewis Wynnum-Manly Seagulls
Wakefield Trinity
1985 Brett Kenny Parramatta Eels
1986 Garry Jack  Balmain Tigers Fullback
1987 Hugh McGahan Eastern Suburbs Roosters Second-row
Peter Sterling Parramatta Eels Halfback
1988 Ellery Hanley Wigan
Balmain Tigers
1989 Mal Meninga Canberra Raiders Centre
1990 Garry Schofield Leeds Five-eighth
1999 Andrew Johns Newcastle Knights Halfback
2000 Brad Fittler Sydney Roosters Five-eighth
2001 Andrew Johns (2) Newcastle Knights Halfback
2002 Stacey Jones New Zealand Warriors Halfback
2003 Darren Lockyer Brisbane Broncos Fullback
2004 Andrew Farrell Wigan Warriors Lock
2005 Anthony Minichiello Sydney Roosters Fullback
2006 Darren Lockyer (2) Brisbane Broncos Five-eighth
2007 Cameron Smith Melbourne Storm Hooker
2008 Billy Slater Melbourne Storm Fullback
2009 Greg Inglis Melbourne Storm Centre
2010 Benji Marshall Wests Tigers Five-eighth
2011 Johnathan Thurston North Queensland Cowboys Halfback
2012 Kevin Sinfield Leeds Rhinos Five-eighth
2013 Johnathan Thurston (2) North Queensland Cowboys Five-eighth
2014 Shaun Johnson New Zealand Warriors Halfback
2015 Johnathan Thurston (3) North Queensland Cowboys Halfback
2016 Cooper Cronk Melbourne Storm Halfback
2017 Cameron Smith (2) Melbourne Storm Hooker

Comments are closed.