SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 30: Former rugby league player Andrew Johns (C) poses with his family and six of the rugby league Immortals at half-time during the 2012 NRL Grand Final match between the Melbourne Storm and the Canterbury Bulldogs at ANZ Stadium on September 30, 2012 in Sydney, Australia. Andrew 'Joey' Johns has been named rugby league's eighth Immortal. (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

NRL CEO Todd Greenberg has confirmed that a ninth Immortal will be chosen in 2018.

Newcastle Knights halfback Andrew Johns is the most recent inductee to the illustrious group of players, named as an Immortal back in 2012.

“We made a conscious decision last year to purchase the IP rights [from Rugby League Week magazine] for the Immortals,” Greenberg said at The Courier-Mail NRL season launch.

“The Commission felt for a long time that it wasn’t under our banner and it should be, it now is. We will have a very diligent process around our Hall of Fame and ultimately on the election of an Immortal and you can stand by for some big announcements on that in the coming month.

“But rest assured, there will be an election of an Immortal in 2018 and there will be a much greater diligent process about how that is unfolding. And a much more transparent process primarily for fans so they have an understanding of how we’re going to do this, but it’s a very big decision for the game.”

The Immortals concept was established in 1981 when the first four players were inducted as the nation’s greatest ever.

Since then, four more players have been added with two in 1999, one 2003 and then Johns joining the group in 2012.

SEE ALSO:  2019 NRL Pre-Season Fixtures

The Immortals

Immortal Year Inducted
Clive Churchill 1981
Bob Fulton 1981
Reg Gasnier 1981
Johnny Raper 1981
Graeme Langlands 1999
Wally Lewis 1999
Arthur Beetson 2003
Andrew Johns 2012


      • I think one of the conditions is that current players can’t be considered and players have to be retired for at least a particular time – that would rule out Smith, Thurston etc. Of the recently retired players I suppose Lockyer would get a mention, perhaps even Daley and Fittler, no doubt there many others. I agree with Provan and Tommy’s suggestions. Coote was great in his own day but I can’t begin to imagine how great he’d be in the modern game. And his greatness wasn’t just on the field.

  1. I’d like to see Mal Meninga named as the next immortal, my view is that he should have been selected over Johns and I was surprised that he wasn’t. Mal was simply unstoppable during his playing days, and was also a great role model away from the field.

  2. Ray Price – played 11 seasons with the Eels and made 7 grand finals not many players can match that record. Also played Origin and for Australia as well as winning the Rothmans medal, Dally M medal and Dally M lock forward of the year for 5 consecutive years between 1982-86., Harry Sunderland medal, Order of Australia Medal, Australia Hall of Fame inductee.

    • Mr Perpetual Motion! Totally agree but really, there needs to be another 8 added to the eight in one big go.

  3. Brad Fittler and Mal Meninga both deserve to be immortal, Provan was before my time but he needs to be there also and probably one more. Its been 8 years since adding immortals. I just think we should already have at least 30 or 40 immortals and then catch up to our time. Why isn’t Dally M, Dave Drown and a heap of legends from the history of our game immortals, When a player retires he should wait 10 yrs before he is nominated. Andrew Johns being immortalized was a joke. Fittler the Australian and NSW ex captain who lead the Roosters to 4 grand finals deserved it before Johns. Fittler out performed Johns on 75% of the games they played against each other including that famous come from behind preliminary final win in 2000 that Fittler stole the show to catapult the Roosters into the grand final.

  4. That should read

    Why isn’t Dally M, Dave Drown known as the Don Bradman of Rugby League and a heap of legends from the history of our game not immortals yet. including Players like Glebe’s (The Dirty Reds) player Frank Burge who was the most prolific try scoring forward in the history of our game scoring 160 tries in 186 games between 1911-1927. These are legends that should automatically be Immortalised

    • You’re right about Burge and Brown – their records are phenomenal. But I think players before about 1950 were not to be considered because apart from someone like Frank Hyde, who could talk with authority for players from the late 1930s onwards, there were hardly any experts (if you can call them that) who saw them play and there was certainly no-one around who saw pre-1930s players such Burge and Dally Messenger play. Hyde used to talk very highly of Herb Narvo, who like many sportsmen of his era (Hyde himself included) had his career severely affected by WW11. Narvo was also a champion cricketer, cyclist and boxer (held the Australian heavyweight title).

  5. “Sticks” Provan has to be it. 256 games for the Saints,19 for NSW and 14 in the Green & Gold and most of those as skipper.
    Although you are all gonna curse me for saying this but the Immortal thing loses all cred when Johns was picked.

  6. Mr Perpetual Motion! Totally agree but really, there needs to be another 8 added to the eight in one big go.

Comments are closed.