The 2017 Holden Cup Team of the Year has been announced today with the team generally being an excellent guide to who will star in the future.

The Cronulla Sharks have dominated the selections, with six players being named.

The side also features a few familiar last names, with Kyle Flanagan, son of Sharks head coach Shane Flanagan was named at halfback. While Blayke Brailey, brother of Sharks hooker Jayden Brailey, also nabbed a spot on the bench.

North Queensland Cowboys fullback Kalyn Ponga has been selected for the second season in a row, with Knights fans eager to see him playing in Newcastle next season.

2017 NYC Team of the Year

  1. Kalyn Ponga (Cowboys)
  2. Sione Katoa (Sharks)
  3. Phillip Sami (Titans)
  4. Jesse Ramien (Sharks)
  5. Greg Leleisiuao (Eels)
  6. Alexander Brimson (Titans)
  7. Kyle Flanagan (Sharks)
  8. Patrick Carrigan (Broncos)
  9. Wayde Egan (Panthers)
  10. Payne Haas (Broncos)
  11. Briton Nikora (Sharks)
  12. Jack Murchie (Raiders)
  13. Billy Magoulias (Sharks)
  14. Victor Radley (Roosters)
  15. Blayke Brailey (Sharks)
  16. Reed Izzard (Panthers)
  17. Jake Clifford (Cowboys)

Coach: John Morris (Sharks)

Which player are you most excited about seeing in the years to come?

Previous NYC Team of the Year

2016 NYC Team of the Year
2015 NYC Team of the Year
2014 NYC Team of the Year
2013 NYC Team of the Year
2012 NYC Team of the Year
2011 NYC Team of the Year
2010 NYC Team of the Year
2009 NYC Team of the Year
2008 NYC Team Of the Year

Comments are closed.